Michelle's Coconut Chicken Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
This is a 5-star plus recipe, as long as you are one to read all the reviews. And, I mean ALL! I essentially added almost every, single possible addition mentioned in the reviewer's notes and was SOOOOO super impressed! To simplify what I added: 1)carrots, potatoes, and frozen peas, 2) few scrapes fresh ginger, 3) 1/2 tablespoon cayenne pepper, 4) four cloves garlic crushed, 5) four tblspns yellow curry, 6) Fresh basil, 7) 1 tspn garam masala, 8) squeeze of lemon, and 9) 2 tsp brown sugar. Truly, it was sensational; served with rice and snap peas! Thanks, to the author and all reviewers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
456 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
This is the BEST curry I've ever made BUT I only gave it 4 stars because what made it great were the suggested additions from other readers. The brown sugar and lime juice additions suggested by another reader are excellent BUT I only added 2 tbsp. brown sugar - I think 1/4 cup would be too sweet. I cubed a potato and added it as I didn't have cauliflower. I also added about 1 tbsp. tandoori paste, which added a nice bit of heat. Finally, I like a little colour in my curry, so I added one carrot sliced on the diagonal and 1/2 red pepper julienned. Both my kids LOVED it - even my fussy 16-yr-old. Took the leftovers to work for lunch today and it was even better the second day! Can't wait to make this again!! Addendum to my review: For those who complain that this recipe is bland, I do believe that the quality of your curry powder can make all the difference. Curry powders vary greatly - invest in good quality and it will make a big difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
WOW, this was easily as good as any yellow curry / musmon / Thai curry dish I have had at a restaurant (and I love curry so I order it everywhere, and have tried cooking it often, without much success before). I told my hubby I was trying a new curry chicken dish, he grumbled 'why bother, they all taste the same' -but then he tried this one, and after his 3rd helping, apologized all night. As others suggested I added 1/4c brown sugar, 1T lime, and 1tsp cayenne. I also cubed a potato. Perfect! And if you think its good the first night, just wait until you have the left overs the next day, when all of the flavor has really soaked inside. Its even more intense and flavorful. My hubby wanted me to cook it again the very next day, not to eat right then, but to put in the fridge and have for the next few lunches. Thanks for this amazing recipe-I can finally make curry taste good in my kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
This recipe was good, but a little bland. I tweaked it, and it came out great. I added 2 cubed potatoes (which helped with the thickness a little),an extra tablespoon of curry, 1/3 cup brown sugar, and a dash of cayenne. As far as being runny, most curries that you get at the Thai restaurants are not thick at all, that is why the rice is sticky, as it absorbs the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willis, Texas, USA
Living In: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
5 stars with these modifications--added to basic recipe: 2 brown potatoes, cubed;1/2 lb baby carrots sliced thin; 3/4c fresh snap peas; 1/4c Hot Madras Yellow Curry powder; 1T Turmeric; 1T red pepper flakes, and 2tsps hot chili pepper powder [we like our food spicy]. 2tsps dry ginger; 1tsp dry basil; 2Tbs brown sugar; 1tsp lemon juice; 1/4c fresh chopped cilantro; 2T jar minced garlic; 1 whole green pepper diced. Before serving over white rice we topped with coarsely chopped peanuts, thin sliced green onions, and raisins. OMG this is wonderful. I am on a curry high
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewelsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
OH MY! This is absolutely divine! I followed the directions but also added 1T of lime juice and 1/3 cup of brown sugar as others suggested. I love curry but my kids don't so I only added about 1T and then sprinkled more on my serving. I served it all over Jasmine rice and then "oohed" and "aahed" all the way through dinner and seconds! Thank you Michelle for a great contribution. I'll be stocking up on coconut milk as we'll be making this a lot in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burnt Hills, New York, USA
Living In: Ballston Lake, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chibi chef
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Followed the advice of previous reviewers to add 1/4 C brown sugar and 1T fresh lime juice. I love the refreshing taste of the lime. I also added carrots and potatoes instead of the cauliflower. I read a review for another recipe that curry seasoning should be cooked in oil along with the garlic and onion, so I did that as well. The end result was pretty good, but because I made many changes, I'm giving 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibi chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
So so so good. This is one of my favorite dishes to make because it's incredibly easy and flavorful. I opt for red bell peppers instead of cauliflower (great color and complementary flavor), and I add 1-2 Tbsp of sugar, a good squeeze of lemon juice, and sometimes basil (for a Thai flair!). Don't worry if the sauce is thin -- it should be so that it can soak into the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
This was excellent! Even my kids, who can be picky, devoured this! I substituted cubed potatoes and carrots for the cauliflower and it turned out great! Will definitely make this again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
Good recipe but required some doctoring. The flavor was good but needed something...I did add some cayenne and a dash of lime but still felt it was lacking a bit. I would have liked to see the sauce be thicker, mine was pretty thin even serving over rice it still ran all over the plate. Perhaps I will use a cornstarch thickener next time. I will try it again because it was pretty tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States