Michelle's Coconut Chicken Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
I made this recipe with these changes. I addes the 1 t. garam masala, 2 t. brown sugar, 2 T. lime juice and 1/8 t. ginger. With the modifications it was decent. I will probably make this again...not sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
We loved this dish and made it exactly as the recipe stated. My 7 year old son even said "Delicious, 5 stars, Can we have it again?" Can't beat that! UPDATE: I keep making this because it is my daughter's favorite recipe. Tried the light coconut milk and think it was better made with regular. Would like to add small diced potatoes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
I didn't have yellow curry powder so I had to substitute red curry paste. I did switch out the cauliflower for the potatoes and carrots, though. I had stir-fry beef instead of chicken on hand so I used that as well. Overall, I felt it was a pretty bland dish. Maybe with all of the suggestions that have been posted it would be better. Good base, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodObsessedMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Abingdon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
I liked the recipe and will make it again. I followed the advice of others and added some brown sugar, cayenne and some lemon juice and it was great. I had a can of coconut cream instead of milk and it made the dish very rich and thick just like in the Thai restaurants. It probably added too many calories but it was very tasty. I will make this again with coconut milk next time to compare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
This was good and I will make it again. However, it did seem to be lacking something, even after I added all of the suggestions from previous reviewers (cayenne, lime, potato, brown sugar, basil, etc..) Easy to make, but took longer than 15 minutes to prep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
I have never made curry before, but have eaten lots in the US and UK. This recipe was easy to follow, and I thought it was exactly what the author said: tasty with a mild curry flavor. It was GOOD! My English boyfriend even likes it. Thanks for sharing and thanks to the people who added helpful tips, I did add a bit of lime and cayenne for some flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
I grew up eating lots of curries and absolutely love it. Here's a little tip to thicken the sauce, since I read few comments about it. Whenever I cook my curry, I always first marinate my sliced/cubed chicken breasts if you use chicken breast) in salt, pepper, curry powder and few teaspoons of cornstarch, enough to coat the chicken nicely. If the marinade is too dry, add few teaspoons of water. You can let it sit for half and hour or so or you can brown the chicken in a medium heat pan right away. I do not cook my chicken fully but just to brown it. Set the chicken aside. I usually add the chicken to the curry sauce to warm it thru before serving so the chicken remains tender. The sauce thickens when the chicken is heated thru. My mom always coat her sliced meat in cornstarch (for stir-fry, curries etc) to keep the meat tender and give it a wonderful silky texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
Yes 5 stars with my changes. I used a whole garlic. I used Broccoli and peas both put in in the last few minutes. I also put in a handful of carrots, half a red pepper thinly sliced.3 tbsp of Hot Madras Curry powder. A finger of peeled and crushed ginger root. Coconut cream instead of milk.(no extra sugar required) The juice of a whole lime, a teaspoon of Cayenne, 2 bay leaves. I used a whole can of chicken stock and thickened with Corn Starch. Wow!! 2 of us ate the lot delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
This was a very good recipe. I was out of cauliflower so I substituted sweet potatoes. Also, I cut the curry amount in half (fearing that it seemed like too much) but I think it would have been fine to use the whole amount. Served it over brown rice. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
Unfortunately this is not what I would consider a "real" curry. Too bland not the right combination of spices to make a proper curry. I will stick to my instincts and East Indian cook book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States