Michelle's Coconut Chicken Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
This was my first time cooking curry from scratch. I loved it! My husband who is a picky eater loved it too. I took advice from the other readers and added the brown sugar and lime juice. This recipe was mild which was great for my young children. For adults who want a little spice, I'd add some cayenne pepper or a little Hawaiian chili pepper (use very little because it's really spicy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
I made most of the suggested changes (brown sugar, potatoes) and switched broccoli for cauliflower. next time I will add the broccoli toward the end of the cooking so they don't deteriorate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
5 stars with these modifications--added to basic recipe: 2 brown potatoes, cubed;1/2 lb baby carrots sliced thin; 3/4c fresh snap peas; 1/4c Hot Madras Yellow Curry powder; 1T Turmeric; 1T red pepper flakes, and 2tsps hot chili pepper powder [we like our food spicy]. 2tsps dry ginger; 1tsp dry basil; 2Tbs brown sugar; 1tsp lemon juice; 1/4c fresh chopped cilantro; 2T jar minced garlic; 1 whole green pepper diced. Before serving over white rice we topped with coarsely chopped peanuts, thin sliced green onions, and raisins. OMG this is wonderful. I am on a curry high
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewelsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
We really liked this one, added extra curry paste and some sweet potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This was excellent. I'm lazy, so I didn't get a head of cauliflower. The grocery store was out of bagged cauliflower. I got a bag of cauliflower, carrots and broccoli. The only deviation I made was adding cayenne pepper to give it a little more kick. I served it with a bag of frozen Biryani curried rice. Excellent together. This is something that I, as a single person, can enjoy eating left over. Lunch tomorrow and Tuesday are going to make me happy. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
very easy, very delicious! Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
reading all the reviews I did less cauliflower added potatos, carrots, cilantro, lime brown sugar, extra curry, brown sugar, ,chili paste and thai peppers., extra chicken broth with cornstarch with these additions it was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Syndi Davis

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
I make this recipe a lot!!! I often don't have cauliflower on hand so I chop up 2 potatoes into tiny pieces and it adds the thickness to the sauce. I also double the amount of curry. Other than that I follow the recipe and it's great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
changed a few things, don't like calflower, instead used baby corn that you buy in the can used fresh spinach, marasala, little flour in the chicken stock, love it spicy, used a little more curry than was asked for, Delisious! next day used it and the rice in a wrap for lunch! would definitely use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
This is a great basic curry, and you can add whatever you want to make it your own! It's a blank canvas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States