Michelle's Coconut Chicken Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
This is now a regularly used recipe in our house. I frequently substitute potatoes for cauliflower and sometimes serve it over rice noodles and top with fresh basil. My husband loves it with sriracha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
This recipe was easy. I did change a couple things as to what I had on hand. I used green curry in the jar and bamboo shoots instead of cauliflower and some carrot for color. The rest I followed to the letter. My husband ate 2 huge bowls as did my son who said, "You can make that again anytime". Love the love from this one! Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by javazjemz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Priest River, Idaho, USA
Living In: Bonney Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Very tasty. It could use a bit more "sweet" contrast. But I liked the combination of flavors and found it very simple to make. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Turned out fantastic! I used water chestnuts instead of califlower and 4 big teaspoons of curry powder, full can of sweetened coconut milk, omited the chicken broth, otherwise followed recipe. Very yummy! I will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I made this last night in the slow cooker, incorporating many of the suggestions from other reviewers. I started by cooking the onion and garlic in the skillet, threw in about 2 Tbsp of the curry with the onions, then added the chicken and cooked for about 7-10 minutes. Then threw everything into the slow cooker - the onion/chicken mixture, 2 potatoes, chopped carrots and red pepper instead of cauliflower, coconut milk and chicken stock. I added 1/4 cup brown sugar, lime juice and papkrika (instead of cayenne pepper). Then slow-cooked for several hours. About an hour before serving, we taste-tested it and found it was a bit too spicy, so I remembered an old trick my Dad taught me, and threw in a chopped banana. Then continued slow-cooking on med for another hour. It was amazing. Spicy, but not painful. Hubby enjoyed it so much he asked if we could save the leftovers until tomorrow, since he's not home for supper tonight. This is a recipe we'll look forward to using again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MasterGrillAZ
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
With some of the tweaks suggested (I went light on the cayenne pepper because the wife doesn't like it THAT spicy), this was a fabulous dish! I would probably use fresh broccoli heads, water chestnuts, julienned carrots, red bell pepper strips, and bamboo shoots next time, and probably put them in at the last 10 minutes or so so they remain crunchy. Taste was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MasterGrillAZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deland, Florida, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
So delicious I used a variety of things but most importantly I sautéed the curry in hot oil with the garlic and onion. It makes the difference. I also added whole baby carrots, crushed ginger pieces in a garlic press, brown sugar, fresh lime juice, small cut up potatos... If your having a problem with thickness I suggest using the potatoes but if that's not good enough the heavy whipping cream will fix that without adding flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reaganmichele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
So, I DO NOT cook! I was really looking to make a simple Thai meal when i came across this receipe and thought it looked delicious so I decided to try and make it. It is fabulous! I did follow the other reviews and add a little brown sugar (not too much, maybe a couple of Tbs) and cayenne pepper and just a bit of lime juice as well I added a little extra chicken stock too, just a little because I added so many more veggies like potatoes and carrots. It was incredibly EASY to make and I love a 1 pot meal!! (Here is my tip: since I added cauliflower, potatoes and carrots, I suggest you add the potatoes and carrots fisrt for about 10 mins and then add the cauliflower, otherwise the cauliflower gets TOO soft) I served it over jasmine rice with some naan to dip in the yummy sauce. FYI...Trader Joes has the best naan if anyone wants to know! Thank you everyone for the reviews and for helping a "non cook" make an outstanding meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This was fantastic! My first shot at a dish like this and was so pleased. My fav Thai restaurant closed that made a similar dish and this hit the spot.(maybe better since I can control the heat!...I don't like too hot) I also used the adds that were mentioned i.e. cayenne pepper, ginger powder, brown sugar, 1 c carrots, 4-5 potatoes cubed (omitted cali..had none), chopped fresh cilantro, and 1/2 lime juice and lime zest. I also browned the chix with the spices removed before slightly undercooked, cut into cubes and returned after all the liquid ingredients had come to a boil. Took to a Naw Ruz celebration and people were going back for 3rds! Thank you VANCITYGIRL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I didn't have yellow curry so I used 2 tsps of garam masala- yum, a nice cozy winter dish. Next time I'll experiment with red curry, then green...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States