Michelle's Coconut Chicken Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
We weren't crazy about this dish. I was prepared for an extremely flavorful sauce like the kind I get at my favorite Thai restaurant, but this one lacked the intense flavor I was looking for. Oh well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
Great base---I made it a 5-star by adding lime juice and a little sugar, and some chillies (I live in Thailand, so I've acquired more of a taste for the lime and spice of a good Thai curry). With the simple additions, this made better curry than I've had in most places in Bangkok!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RONNASTEFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bangkok, Bangkok (Krung Thep Maha Nakhon), Thailand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
I love chicken curry but never tried making it myself. This was delicious. I followed advice previously left and added 1/4 cup brown sugar and 1T of lime. You can cut the calories and fat significantly by using light coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Great recipe as a base. Like many other people, I added some fresh lime juice, brown sugar, cayenne, chopped potatoes, and much more curry powder. I think any more than 1/3 cup of brown sugar is too sweet. You can pretty much play around with the spices to taste, but in summary, I would definitely make this a staple weekly recipe in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
Really good, I added a tad more curry to liven things up and some coarse black pepper. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
Very good recipe, Michelle! This was quick and easy, and everyone in the family liked it. I did follow other reviewer's advice and added 1 tablespoon lime juice, 1 teaspoon cayenne and 1/4 cup brown sugar. Next time I will leave out the brown sugar (or only add a tablespoon or two) as I think we would prefer it without the sweet taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
I loved this dish - I LOVE coconut, so next time I make it I may add 1 1/2 cans coconut milk, but that is my own taste. The recipe was excellent as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
I could not stop eating this! I read all of the reviews, and made additions accordingly. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAITIDID

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
We did enjoy this, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
What a great recipe!! I threw in some frozen veggies, canned mushrooms, water chesnuts and more curry and it was like I was eating at a restaurant. This hit the spot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnitaMarie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States