Michelle's Coconut Chicken Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Great recipe as a base. Like many other people, I added some fresh lime juice, brown sugar, cayenne, chopped potatoes, and much more curry powder. I think any more than 1/3 cup of brown sugar is too sweet. You can pretty much play around with the spices to taste, but in summary, I would definitely make this a staple weekly recipe in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
Really good, I added a tad more curry to liven things up and some coarse black pepper. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
Very good recipe, Michelle! This was quick and easy, and everyone in the family liked it. I did follow other reviewer's advice and added 1 tablespoon lime juice, 1 teaspoon cayenne and 1/4 cup brown sugar. Next time I will leave out the brown sugar (or only add a tablespoon or two) as I think we would prefer it without the sweet taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
I loved this dish - I LOVE coconut, so next time I make it I may add 1 1/2 cans coconut milk, but that is my own taste. The recipe was excellent as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
I could not stop eating this! I read all of the reviews, and made additions accordingly. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAITIDID

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
We did enjoy this, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
What a great recipe!! I threw in some frozen veggies, canned mushrooms, water chesnuts and more curry and it was like I was eating at a restaurant. This hit the spot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnitaMarie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
I used this recipe as a base to start my chicken curry. I used all the same ingredients as Michelle, but I added a few more things.. like a red pepper, celery, carrot, ginger root, lime juice, garam masala, celery seed and I also doubled the recipe since I had about 2 pounds of chicken. I tend to always use more curry than suggested b/c my hubby and I like things HOT :) I served it with jasmine rice.. our aparment smelled like a nice Indian restaurant... hope the neighbor's didn't mind ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NCRAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clementon, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
This was heavenly! My boyfriend had 2nds which is always a good indicator. It was exactly what I was wanting & the flavor was delish. As the some of the other members suggested I added the lime juice, brown sugar, & a cut up potato. This will go in my recipe book as a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENZINGER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Center, Washington, USA
Living In: Ridgefield, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
Oh Michelle, I've been waiting for a recipe like this for chicken/shrimp coconut & curry. My husband liked it, I loved it. I did make the changes that past reviewers made but instead of the cayenne pepper, I subsituted 4 dried Thai chilis,(yes, 4). Do not, I repeat DO Not do this if you do not like spicy!!! Too many chilis to say the least. The flavor with the veggies and Curry and Coconut is absolutely yummy. Thanks from one M to another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States