Michelle's Coconut Chicken Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by MamaToNikolas
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
We really enjoyed this. I made it exactly like it states and it was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaToNikolas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
Delicious! Most recipes I have to tweek a little here and there or read all the reviews to know how to 'fix' it. This one is perfect as is. The hot curry is mellowed just enough with the coconut milk to create a wonderful spicey creamy sauce for the chicken and vegetables. We had it over steamed basmati rice with a small baby spinach salad with goat cheese. A wonderful easy dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
Family prefers butter chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
Good recipe but required some doctoring. The flavor was good but needed something...I did add some cayenne and a dash of lime but still felt it was lacking a bit. I would have liked to see the sauce be thicker, mine was pretty thin even serving over rice it still ran all over the plate. Perhaps I will use a cornstarch thickener next time. I will try it again because it was pretty tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
I guess I should've followed everyone's advice and added the brown sugar and other tweaks. I made it just as written, and it tasted like I had just doused everything in curry powder. The flavors of everything else in the dish got drowned out completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
This was a good "starter" recipie for me, as I have never made "Thai/Indian" food (I use quotes because I don't consider this true authentic Thai/Indian). I enjoyed it, regardless though. Anyways, I used leftover rotasserie chicken, and added soy sauce, green curry paste, peanut butter & cayenne pepper to the sauce, and used green beans & red peppers along with the cauliflower & onion. Served over rice noodles, topped with peanuts & scallions. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
I loved this recipe! I have made a few adjustments, because I didn't exactly all the ingredients and I tried to follow advices of the others (I added 2potatoes, 1/3 cup of sugar and lemon juice - didn't have lime) and the result was fantastic. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
With a few modifications, I'd rate this recipe one of the best on the site (I gave it a 4 because it needs a few ingredients). As suggested by other reviewers, I added 1/4 c brown sugar, 1T lime juice, and 1 tsp cayenne, all of which I think are essential to the flavor of this dish. I substituted Thai stock for the chicken (you can get it at Wegman's) and realized at the last minute that I was almost out of yellow curry, so I ended up using 1 T curry and about 2 T curry paste (next time I'd use all curry paste). I used about 1/4 head of cauliflower and added carrot and red bell pepper. The carrots take a while to become tender so if you're short on time you might want to steam them as you're cooking the onion/chicken mixture. I served over jasmine rice and sprinkled peanuts on top. It was the best Thai food I've ever cooked, and I make it a lot. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
This is a family favorite. My BF asks for this all the time. Actually, he asks for it so often, I'm getting tired of making it. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Firefly08

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
WOW! I've been trying Thai recipes for a little while and this is the best. Now, I also added the lime and brown sugar. I dislike cauliflower in my curry, so I used carrots, instead. We made our own sticky rice and we loved it! (It did need to cook it a little longer, but I think that's because I added the carrots.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States