Michelle's Coconut Chicken Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by Jillian Kuhlmann
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
We love Coconut Chicken Curry! But this was lacking in flavor..I did add red pepper flakes, 1 jalapeno, 1 T. brown sugar, and 2 small potatoes. But something was missing. I will try a different curry next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian Kuhlmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
This was a really good recipe. I was trying to find something close to a curry I like a my favourite Thai restaurant, and this came pretty close. I used potatoes instead of cauliflower and added a bit of lemon juice. I added brown sugar, which helped, but I think I would add less next time (maybe just 1 tbsp).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissa Wilson Martin
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Added pineapple for fun, and it worked really well. This doesn't take too long to cook. My husband the curry fan liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Wilson Martin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Payson, Utah, USA
Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
Very delicious, changed and added a few items: 2T brown sugar,4 cloves garlic, 3T yellow curry powder,1/2 t cayenne, fresh lime juice from a half of a lime, and 2 bay leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda879

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Scappoose, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
Excellent creamy coconut curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
This is the BEST curry I've ever made BUT I only gave it 4 stars because what made it great were the suggested additions from other readers. The brown sugar and lime juice additions suggested by another reader are excellent BUT I only added 2 tbsp. brown sugar - I think 1/4 cup would be too sweet. I cubed a potato and added it as I didn't have cauliflower. I also added about 1 tbsp. tandoori paste, which added a nice bit of heat. Finally, I like a little colour in my curry, so I added one carrot sliced on the diagonal and 1/2 red pepper julienned. Both my kids LOVED it - even my fussy 16-yr-old. Took the leftovers to work for lunch today and it was even better the second day! Can't wait to make this again!! Addendum to my review: For those who complain that this recipe is bland, I do believe that the quality of your curry powder can make all the difference. Curry powders vary greatly - invest in good quality and it will make a big difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
Doubled recipe. Added ceyenne to taste (spicy), 1/4 C. brown sugar, 2 tbls lime juice. No veggies. Very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Fey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
We made this tonight and it was a hit! The cauliflower was divine after being cooked in the sauce for 30 min. We added brown sugar to the sauce recipe, but nothing else. It was delightful and wasn't too thick or too thin. When cooking the chicken, we added red peppers for color. We had leftover brown rice blend in the frig, so we used that, mixing it with the chicken and pouring the sauce-cauliflower mixture over the top. We garnished with a little flaked coconut. A spinach & goat cheese salad was a delicious side, as suggested by another reviewer. Great recipee!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami Clough

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MamaToNikolas
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
We really enjoyed this. I made it exactly like it states and it was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaToNikolas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
Delicious! Most recipes I have to tweek a little here and there or read all the reviews to know how to 'fix' it. This one is perfect as is. The hot curry is mellowed just enough with the coconut milk to create a wonderful spicey creamy sauce for the chicken and vegetables. We had it over steamed basmati rice with a small baby spinach salad with goat cheese. A wonderful easy dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States