Michelle's Coconut Chicken Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
I grew up eating lots of curries and absolutely love it. Here's a little tip to thicken the sauce, since I read few comments about it. Whenever I cook my curry, I always first marinate my sliced/cubed chicken breasts if you use chicken breast) in salt, pepper, curry powder and few teaspoons of cornstarch, enough to coat the chicken nicely. If the marinade is too dry, add few teaspoons of water. You can let it sit for half and hour or so or you can brown the chicken in a medium heat pan right away. I do not cook my chicken fully but just to brown it. Set the chicken aside. I usually add the chicken to the curry sauce to warm it thru before serving so the chicken remains tender. The sauce thickens when the chicken is heated thru. My mom always coat her sliced meat in cornstarch (for stir-fry, curries etc) to keep the meat tender and give it a wonderful silky texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
Yes 5 stars with my changes. I used a whole garlic. I used Broccoli and peas both put in in the last few minutes. I also put in a handful of carrots, half a red pepper thinly sliced.3 tbsp of Hot Madras Curry powder. A finger of peeled and crushed ginger root. Coconut cream instead of milk.(no extra sugar required) The juice of a whole lime, a teaspoon of Cayenne, 2 bay leaves. I used a whole can of chicken stock and thickened with Corn Starch. Wow!! 2 of us ate the lot delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
This was a very good recipe. I was out of cauliflower so I substituted sweet potatoes. Also, I cut the curry amount in half (fearing that it seemed like too much) but I think it would have been fine to use the whole amount. Served it over brown rice. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
Unfortunately this is not what I would consider a "real" curry. Too bland not the right combination of spices to make a proper curry. I will stick to my instincts and East Indian cook book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
I made this with the suggestions listed by EMT Sept 2007... only difference was I used 2 cans of chicken breast instead of fresh chicken and 1/2-1 tsp red pepper flakes in place of the cayenne EMT used. It was amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamamuggle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
To make it super easy, I threw my frozen chicken breasts in the crock pot with everything else, including potatoes, carrots, bell peppers, some ginger, extra curry and garlic, and left it on low for several hours, then shredded the chicken, mixed it all together, cooked a few more hours. I thickened it with corn starch since I like my curry a bit thicker, and served over jasmine rice (made with coconut oil... delicious!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
I don't like spicy so this recipe is good for me:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elenchen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
Sorry for such a long comment, but I like this recipe because of the combination of ingredients and the preparation -- but, of course I made a few changes which for me made it more what I wanted. I used ground turkey this time instead of chicken - but another time I might use chicken. First off I browned the ground turkey to get some meat juices for the sauteeing and then removed the meat, leaving the meat juices. Then instead of oil, I used what I had, which was Smart Balance, and I added chopped fresh ginger and jalapenos to the onion and garlic sautee. I also added the curry powder to this mixture and let it heat up and cook soft. While this was cooking, I chopped up a bunch of fresh broccoli (instead of cauliflower) - stems and florets - and some fresh asparaghus. I added this to the heated spice and onion mixture for a short while to just coat the fresh chopped vegetables and then I took this whole mixture and put it on the bottom of a small (1 1/2 to 2 quart) crock pot. On top of that I added the browned ground turkey. Instead of one 14 ounce can of coconut milk, I used about 1/2 the can and added in a 10.75 ounce can of Campbell's condensed Broccoli Cheese soup, which is one of the rare prepared soups I like. I wanted a liquid-y result, so I added some heated up chicken broth. Then I grated some fresh black pepper on it all. I turned the crock pot on high for a while before I went to sleep -- before I went to sleep, the last thing I did was put the crock pot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
great with the changes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Yum, YUM!!! This was so quick and easy and yummy!! I used a chicken substitute (Quorn) and added cashews while the cauliflower was cooking. This recipe is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canon City, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States