Michelle's Coconut Chicken Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Loved it but with adding ingredients as other reviewers suggested. I added sliced carrots, cubed potatoes, 1 tsp ginger, 2 tsp cayenne pepper, 1 tsp lemon juice, and 2 Tbsp brown sugar. Yumm, yumm. My hubby is not into coconut milk, but he said this was very good and to make it more often. Thanks for the recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
SO GOOD. I've made this several times. I've tried making some additions such as potatoes and carrots, and those were good, but honestly I prefer the recipe as written. The cauliflower and onions and chicken are quite enough substance to carry these wonderful flavors, and I think adding other things muddies it just a bit. The one change I have made that I would make again is using chicken thighs rather than breasts. Just personal preference that I like how moist the thighs are. Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Good base recipe, but YES, like most everyone else, I added heat AND more veges. Used a bag of frozen cauliflower, not fresh, and it was totally fine. Also used 3 (med) carrots, and added a bag of frozen peas and about a cup of frozen edamame. Used Thai red curry spice and added red pepper flakes and cayenne. Also took others' advice and added about 2 TS of corn starch to the chicken while it was cooking, so that the sauce was a bit thicker than it would have been. We really enjoyed eating this for several meals! This recipe can be easily tweaked to suit your taste preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
FANTASTIC recipe but you HAVE to follow all of the reviews! I added brown sugar, potatoes, and a bit of red pepper to give it a kick. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Loved this - but made the following modifications/additions: 4 cloves garlic, 1 tsp fresh ginger, 2 tbls brown sugar, 3/4 cup roasted cashews, carrots, cubed potato, snap peas, 1/2 tsp cayenne, 5 tbls curry powder, 1 cup chunk pineapple, used coconut oil (instead of vegetable oil) plus one tbls of ghee, added enough low sodium chicken stock to almost cover, simmered for at least a hour. Served with rice. This was a great recipe to use and modify - thank you so much for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
The first time I made this it became a household favorite. I made the original recipe with no modifications, and the family loved it. It is so basic you could do almost anything. Added 1/2 cup cashews and 1/2 cup raisins once. Another time I added 1 Tbs ginger and left out the cauliflower. It all depends on what I have in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Really good!! Perfect heat!! Used half & half instead of heavy cream and will try coconut milk next time instead. Used Greek yogurt which made it thicker. Doubled the sauce too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Just made this tonight. Let me start by saying DH and I are not big curry fans. But still trying to broaden our horizons. I have to admit it was good! Easy to follow instructions and really pretty darned tasty. I didn't have cauliflower so I subbed red potatoes. Thank you for sharing your recipe with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Semigourmet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
For my first time trying to make curry this is a great start. It did need some additional spices so I had to add about a teaspoon of chicken bouillon as this was my first time making curry I was scared to overwhelm the recipe. I did substitute the cauliflower with potato and carrots as well. Next time I will most definitely try some of the suggestions from the comments as they all sound so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I added the extras people suggested, but it still tasted bland. I did have really cheap curry and perhaps if I added more quality curry, it would have tasted better. Also, I added a lot of salt and that helped. It tasted better the second day after the flavors marinated overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States