Michell Jenny's Challah Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
My husband bought me a bread machine a few weeks ago so I have been making different breads here and there. Mainly because we truly want to avoid the preservatives and high fructose that is found in most bread. I found this recipe and decided to give it a try. I made this recipe exactly to the letter. My only problem was I put it in the oven for 25 minutes when it probably should have been more like 20 or at least I should have been looking at it at the 20 minute make. Nevertheless, the bread was a darker brown but tasted delicious!! Very rich, mildly sweet and wonderful. It deserves 5 stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
Excellent - moist, delecious and ingredients are spot on. Brushing with egg and topping with poppy seeds a must in my book. Go to youtube and look up braiding videos to learn the different braids - everything from 3 to 6 strings and your bread will look great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENSINGTON

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emmanuelle
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
Absolutly the BEST challah recipe !! Very light and tasty. A real success. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmanuelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Living In: Les Ulis, Île-De-France, France
Photo by Heather W
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
I doubled the recipe and made 18 cinnamon rolls and one really beautiful braided bread. Very easy to work with and very tasty. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
This was my first time baking a yeast bread other than pizza dough. I don't have a bread machine so I used directions from other challah recipes to combine ingredients and let the bread rise. The bread came out great and my family loved it. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Goodeats
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
The bread was light, fluffy, and melt in your mouth good! Simply delicious! Just had to remember not to overknead...left the dough sort of mushy and not very kneadable with the hands before the first rising...but it was not too hard to shape after 60 minutes. The loaf was GONE in a few minutes!!!! Yum Yum Yum! Thank you for a great recipe! Didn't have to change a thing! I don't have a breadmachine but it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin fool
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
This recipe was really authentic and tasted as good as it looked! I would suggest adding an egg wash after the last rising and just before you put it in the oven. This makes it shine. The egg wash contains one egg and 1 tablespoon water beaten together and brushed over the top of the braided dough. Also, to make the bread festive, sprinkle some sesame or poppy seeds over the top just before baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
This recipe turned out even better when I "accidentally" baked the bread at 375 deg. for 25 minutes. It was perfectly moist and golden brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
I use this recipe for almost all of our festive Jewish occasions and everyone raves about and requests this challah! Thank you Michell! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
It made a very nice white bread, but it's not even close to the authentic challah recipe I was looking for. But it is good for an everyday bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States