Michell Jenny's Challah Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Easy to make bread for beginners. Turns out very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Comstock Park, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
really nice bread. i used half whole wheat flour, still nice and light. does make a large braided loaf, next time i think i would divide it into 2 loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Nepean, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BakingBot
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
The crust hardened too quickly and the inside was not as soft as other recipes I've tried. I added 2 tsps more of sugar, since I prefer sweeter challah. However, the dough is VERY easy to work with. When tucking under the ends of my braid, I wet them slightly with water to make it easier for them to stick together. I also did not have to cook it for the duration called for, so keep any eye on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Rediscovered the bread machine while cleaning the basement. This recipe was just what I was looking for. A nice homemade bread - light and fluffy. The crust wasn't as hard as I've had on other store-bought challahs but my family devoured the whole loaf in one sitting. Great tasting warmed with some butter on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Commerce Township, Michigan, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
FABULOUS BREAD!!! I will be making this bread again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
This Challah is super fantabulous! I like to put sugar in it, and I put alot, so it's really really delicious!! =o
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tuliipiie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Hawaii Kai, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
I made this challah by hand, and even so it was very easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Made a nice large pretty loaf. The flavor was good, but not anything exciting. I was hoping to taste more of the honey in it, but I think I could have used sugar and gotten the same flavor. It was very good, I was hoping for something more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sedgewickville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
UNBELIEVABLE!!!!!!!!!! This was the most amazing bread I've EVER tasted!!!! Tasted great and looks beautiful- I may be handing loaves of this out as gifts for the holidays! Thank you so much for sharing this TERRIFIC bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Me
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
This was just absolutely delicious. =]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Me

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States