Michell Jenny's Challah Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I had Challah bread before, and this did not compare. This bread was very dense, and the crust was too hard. The flavor was bland and should have been sweeter. The Challah I had before was sweet, light and fluffy. I won't make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovetobake

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
this is the best challah bread i have had since 1990
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Oh I love this Challah recipe! It's so easy and the family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunshynGoddess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
One of the best breads I've ever made. No modifications needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This has got to be by far the best loaf of bread I have made! I did not use a bread machine, just made it the old fashion way, also did not braid the dough, made it into a loaf, It raised wonderfully , the texture and taste were beautiful. This is a real keeper No doubt I will make it again and again,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gailleet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I have made this recipe a hundred times and it is a favorite among friends and family. I get requests for it all the time. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Ford

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shae's Mama
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I had so much fun making this! A great, easy to follow recipe...not as complicated as I was expecting. I also do not have a bread machine, so I heated the water to 110-115 degrees F, then added the yeast to soften. Next, I whisked in the honey, salt and melted butter. I followed another reviewers suggestion and stirred in 1 cup of flour, then the eggs. Finally added as much flour as I could, then kneaded the rest in. I kneaded the dough for about 7 minutes, then put in a greased bowl, covered and let rise for about 35 mintues. I rolled out 3 strands of dough (all equal in size and thickness) and did a simple braid, then pinched off the ends to secure. I did find many wonderful videos on YouTube showing how to make with 4, 5 and even 6 strands...will try some of these next time. Brushed on an egg wash of 1 egg beaten with 1 tbsp. water...just scrambled the leftover egg mixture for a snack. Baked Challah at a lower temp (350 degrees) for 35 minutes and it came out perfect. Next time might top with sesame or poppy seeds ~ Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shae's Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
this is the first recipe I tried in my new breadmaker and it came out great. I don't have much to compare it too but the bread was baked perfectly and had good flavor. it reminds me very much of the taste and texture of a soft pretzel. I washed with egg white and added poppy seed as another suggested and gave it with our holiday food baskets. I will definitely make it again but will add a bit more honey to increase the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
A wonderful dough; I confess I subverted it to the making of sweet rolls pinwheeled with raisins and nuts, cinnamon and brown sugar. It performed beautifully as a vehicle for all that tinkering. Thank you! Next time I'll restore it to its proper function as a braided loaf. 'Soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phishgurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shaftsburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Idaho City, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Added about 1 cup of raisins to dough, brushed loaf with honey, and then sprinkled cinnamon over it. I don't have a bread maker, so I kneaded the dough for 10 minutes. Turned out wonderful. Next time I'll add more raisins and honey to dough, and try mixing in some cinnamon as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States