Michell Jenny's Challah Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
Absolutely delicious bread. I don't have a bread machine so I just softened the yeast in the water, then whisked in the salt, honey, and oil (I can't be bothered to melt butter on the stove since I don't have a microwave). Stir in one cup of the flour, then the eggs. Stir in as much flour as you can, then knead in the remaining. I had to use a smidge more flour to get the right consistency. Tasty, wonderful bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KBots

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Yummy! I already ate half a loaf, and I made it a few hours ago. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Park, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
This was very good. I don't have a bread machine so this is what I did. In a large bowl mixed the water and the yeast let stand for 5 minutes. Mixed in the egg, butter and honey. Added the flour and the salt. Knead for 8 minutes. Place in an oiled bowl cover and let rise 1-1/2 hours until doubled. Then continued with the recipe instructions. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I'm not sure if this is a fair rating to a Challah bread because I've never had challah before. I found the bread kind of boring tasting. There just wasn't much taste. My little sister loved it though so maybe it's just me. I just thought it was missing something...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
I've made a lot of challah recipes in my day, and this is by far my favorite! It is always moist and buttery and absolutely delicious. I make the dough in my breadmaker and it's easy as can be. If I'm too lazy to braid it I just divide the dough in half and pop each in a loaf pan before the 2nd rising.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AbFab

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Occidental, California, USA
Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Absolutely Amazing! I can't believe this didn't come from some artisan bakery! Made it last night and will make it again today 'cause I gotta have more! Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOWA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Nandabear
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
We loved this Challah! It was wonderful. I set my oven for 40 minutes but next time I'll set it for 35 minutes. I did a 6 strand braid but I think I pulled it to tight. Will keep practicing now that I found a great recipe! I basted it with a mixture of one egg and 2 tbs. water. I also recommend dipping your finger in the egg and then on some sesame seed and rolling it to make a nicer presentation. Thank you Ione!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
This is FABULOUS! A definite keeper! I made it just as directed. I also used my kitchenaid instead of a bread machine, but it turned out perfectly. I will be making this a lot more. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
I loved this recipe. And I kept it in the bread machine instead of braiding the dou
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Great, very moist and soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Piracicaba, São Paulo, Brazil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States