Michael's Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
The chicken comes out super in this sauce. Make sure to drain the chicken after browning for a few minutes on each side as the remaining juices from the chicken are released during baking and the sauce doubles. I noticed that if I hadn't done that then the sauce would have been too watery. I followed the recipe exactly and mine came out perfect, not too sweet, not to vinegary, not too sour. If you have concerns around the sauce being too "vinegar-y", keep it at a low-med heat in the sauce pan in the meantime while you are browning the chicken. This will burn off and thin out some of the vinegar's tangy taste, but still leave an undretone of it which is required for this recipe. After I tasted this I realized it would be a great sauce for pulled pork, or really any meat in a slow cooker. For pulled pork I would probably double or triple the brown sugar though to complement it more than the chicken requires. As far as the taste of this sauce, it reminded me of the sauce used in Lloyds Barbeque Ribs that you buy ready made at the store. I love that particular sauce and I have finally found a recipe that I can use and save the money from buying Lloyd's ribs just for tasting that great sauce. This is a great addition to my recipe collection, will make it one of my regulars. Thanks!! A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Krakow, Lesser Poland, Poland
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2002
Sorry, but this was one of the worst recipes ever. Way too "vinegary" - my husband (who's not picky at all didn't care for it at all, and my teenage boys wouldn't touch it. Don't know if the ingredient ratio was incorrectly given.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I must side with those who think this recipe calls for too much vinegar. I fixed it for my wife and myself and we liked it much better the second day after I added some honey,and a little salt, to counteract the vinegar. It actually made my eyes water when I was heating it up the first night. If you just consider the amount of vinegar compared to the other ingredients, it seems out of proportion, like it's a typo. I would recommend starting with one-fourth, not three-fourths, cup of vinegar. You're prepping the sauce in a saucepan before adding it to the chicken so you can always increase the vinegaryness to your liking. Much easier to add than to subtract. Rating this recipe 4 stars based on adjusting vinegar down to one-fourth cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
I thought this recipes was very tasty and easy. I added a lot more garlic (I'm a lover) and some extra cayenne -- tada! Thanks Michael.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Very good recipe except it's important to mention the amount of time to cook the sauce so the flavors meld. I cooked it for at least half an hour before pouring it on top of the chicken, plus I added two tablespoons of butter to round out the richness. In addition, I left the chicken uncovered for the last 15 minutes so the sauce baked on top. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
This was a very simple recipe but it turned out very good. I doubled up on the ingredients so we could use the left over as a sauce over the rice I served with it. I used boned and skinned thighs which lowered the fat drippings and made the marinade useable. Great recipe to have on hand for a last minute throw together with a great taste. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
I used white vinegar, and cut it by a 1/4 cup (1/2 cupe white vinegar, 1/4 cup water) and it worked fine....not too vinegary at all, and I wouldn't cut it using cider vinegar. ] I might try a bit of red wine vinegar for kicks.... At any rate, this was a FANTASTIC recipe, and is now our regular BBQ sauce. GREAT stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
The sauce on this was outstanding. I made it with chicken legs and it worked just as well. Also, the tomato paste expands to create more sauce than I thought before I covered and baked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
I agree with the one reviewer, too much vinegar for us, we'll cut it by half. However, overall it was good. We will be making it again with the vinegar cut (will add water to make up for it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
This is a tasty recipe. I made one adjustment; I reduced the cider vinegar by 1/4 C and substituted 1/4 C bourbon whiskey. I'll try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Campbellsville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Crispy and Tender Baked Chicken Thighs

See how to roast chicken until crispy on the outside and juicy on the inside.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States