Michael's Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
This wasn't a hit at all unfortunately. It didn't matter what I added to the sauce,it didn't improve. I wish I'd just used regular bottled bbq sauce. Oh well, thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
This is a tasty recipe. I made one adjustment; I reduced the cider vinegar by 1/4 C and substituted 1/4 C bourbon whiskey. I'll try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Campbellsville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
I wasn't quite sure of this recipe, and it was a pleasant surprise, my daughter said it is on hit. It is also a great second day sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Scott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
This would have tasted way to vinegary except that I kept it cooking for about another hour. The flavors blended and it was tasty. Not sure I'll make this again but it wasn't bad overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BajaValle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
This tasted like spicy ketchup on chicken thighs...the sauce (sweetened and toned town some) might be better as a sauce for shredded beef or pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
The chicken comes out super in this sauce. Make sure to drain the chicken after browning for a few minutes on each side as the remaining juices from the chicken are released during baking and the sauce doubles. I noticed that if I hadn't done that then the sauce would have been too watery. I followed the recipe exactly and mine came out perfect, not too sweet, not to vinegary, not too sour. If you have concerns around the sauce being too "vinegar-y", keep it at a low-med heat in the sauce pan in the meantime while you are browning the chicken. This will burn off and thin out some of the vinegar's tangy taste, but still leave an undretone of it which is required for this recipe. After I tasted this I realized it would be a great sauce for pulled pork, or really any meat in a slow cooker. For pulled pork I would probably double or triple the brown sugar though to complement it more than the chicken requires. As far as the taste of this sauce, it reminded me of the sauce used in Lloyds Barbeque Ribs that you buy ready made at the store. I love that particular sauce and I have finally found a recipe that I can use and save the money from buying Lloyd's ribs just for tasting that great sauce. This is a great addition to my recipe collection, will make it one of my regulars. Thanks!! A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Krakow, Lesser Poland, Poland
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
The sauce on this was outstanding. I made it with chicken legs and it worked just as well. Also, the tomato paste expands to create more sauce than I thought before I covered and baked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
I used white vinegar, and cut it by a 1/4 cup (1/2 cupe white vinegar, 1/4 cup water) and it worked fine....not too vinegary at all, and I wouldn't cut it using cider vinegar. ] I might try a bit of red wine vinegar for kicks.... At any rate, this was a FANTASTIC recipe, and is now our regular BBQ sauce. GREAT stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
Was apprehensive about dish being too 'vinegary,' after reading a couple reviews, but it wasn't (for us) Served with mashed potato, but I think its light/thin sauce would be better over rice. Doubled quantity of minced onion, otherwise followed recipe using skinless/ boneless thighs, and apple cider vinegar. We LOVED the combo flavour of 'sour & sweet.' One of the best chix recipes ever & a definite new favourite. Thanks much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HIJIMMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
I agree with the one reviewer, too much vinegar for us, we'll cut it by half. However, overall it was good. We will be making it again with the vinegar cut (will add water to make up for it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Honey Baked Chicken II

Honey, mustard, and curry create a simple, sweet-and-savory baked chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States