Michael's Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
My husband and I love this recipe. What I especially love is that I can be lazy with it if I want and it still tastes okay, but the best way is to cook the sauce before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort St. John, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
I dont know what I did wrong, but this turned out really spicy. My husband loved it, but it was too hot for me. I used the vinegar as called for and added garlic powder and honey. I cooked the sauce down for about 30 minutes until it was almost syrupy. The texture and color is beautiful, but next time I'll reduce the cayenne & chili sauce. Served with steamed white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
It was too vinegary at first, but I added a couple squirts of honey and about a tablespoon more of brown sugar and it turned out great. Also, I used 1/2 seasoned rice vinegar because it is more mild.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I must side with those who think this recipe calls for too much vinegar. I fixed it for my wife and myself and we liked it much better the second day after I added some honey,and a little salt, to counteract the vinegar. It actually made my eyes water when I was heating it up the first night. If you just consider the amount of vinegar compared to the other ingredients, it seems out of proportion, like it's a typo. I would recommend starting with one-fourth, not three-fourths, cup of vinegar. You're prepping the sauce in a saucepan before adding it to the chicken so you can always increase the vinegaryness to your liking. Much easier to add than to subtract. Rating this recipe 4 stars based on adjusting vinegar down to one-fourth cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
very good, used chili sauce came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jax5098

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
Very nice sauce - perfect as is, no adjustments required. Kids loved too, would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Very good recipe except it's important to mention the amount of time to cook the sauce so the flavors meld. I cooked it for at least half an hour before pouring it on top of the chicken, plus I added two tablespoons of butter to round out the richness. In addition, I left the chicken uncovered for the last 15 minutes so the sauce baked on top. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
This was a very simple recipe but it turned out very good. I doubled up on the ingredients so we could use the left over as a sauce over the rice I served with it. I used boned and skinned thighs which lowered the fat drippings and made the marinade useable. Great recipe to have on hand for a last minute throw together with a great taste. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Followed recipe exactly. Used hot chili sauce. Used some chicken breasts as well as thighs. Turned out wonderfully - very nice flavor. It was quite hot - just the way we like it! Thanks for sharing a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
There was nothing spectacular about this sauce. It wasn't disgusting, but I will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Tucker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Pasco, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Honey Baked Chicken II

Honey, mustard, and curry create a simple, sweet-and-savory baked chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States