Michael's Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
I made two changes. One slight - I just did my normal sub of some onion powder since I dislike cooked onion pieces. I also don't like thighs so decided to use this sauce on boneless chicken breasts. I used what I thought a good equivalent of about 2 1/2 pounds, but there was enough sauce for probably at least 3 lb. I cut them to be more like the size of thighs, and it also didn't take 45 minutes in the oven - but difficult to comment on that since I was using a different meat cut. I've made it twice. The first time I thought it fairly good and was a 4, though I wouldn't want to make it often. The second time I thought it a 3 and that it was a bit too tangy. I just figured it was something I had to be in the mood for. After reading the other reviews I see many thought it too tangy, and I wasn't really aware that cooking down vinegar would cut the tang - so I'm assuming I just coincidentally cooked it more the first time, which tells me it would probably be fine if cooked more as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
I have a VERY fussy husband and this is one of the nights he compimented me! I followed the recipe(for two) and cut down on the vinegar slightly, omitted the tomato paste, followed the remainder of the recipe. I would serve this for guests - the best taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
The sauce was easy enough to make. I liked this recipe better than my husband did; he thought the tomato paste overwhelmed the other flavors. The chili sauce plus cayenne gave it a subtle kick. I did cut the apple cider vinegar in half after reading previous reviews and the result was vinegar-y enough for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
My family LOVED this recipe and we aren't big fans of chicken thighs. My husband had 3 pieces. I added extra brown sugar, and some garlic powder, but otherwise mixed the sauce ingredients and cooked it on the stove while browning the thighs. Will make the sauce again for chicken breasts and pork too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Yeesh, I don't quite know how this got good reviews. I followed the recipe to a T and ended up with spicy vinegary chicken. I even let the sauce cook down for 35 minutes. I'm glad some people got good results from this, but it wasn't for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I followed some reviewers tips and used only 1/2 the vinegar. With this change we all loved this dish and will make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love to cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I thought the sauce seemed a bit thick and chunky. It was all right, but not great, in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
LOVED it! My husband said it's some of the best chicken he's ever had! I followed the recipe except I used 1Tbsp Splenda Brown Sugar instead of 2 Tbsp regular brown sugar, and substituted 3 Tbsp dry minced onion for the fresh chopped onion, and I only cooked them for 30 minutes in our gas oven. They were SO TENDER they would make great BBQ Chicken Sandwiches, too. Thanks for a new weekly favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Ever since I moved into my apartment, I've been craving BBQ. Unfortunately, the complex doesn't allow grills on the balcony, but this satisfies my hankering for BBQ chicken--without the grill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zombii17

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
My husband and I love this recipe. What I especially love is that I can be lazy with it if I want and it still tastes okay, but the best way is to cook the sauce before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort St. John, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Honey Baked Chicken II

Honey, mustard, and curry create a simple, sweet-and-savory baked chicken.

Oven-Fried Chicken II

See a delicious, healthier way to make fried chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States