Mexina Salsa Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I used all of the ingredients (minus the red tomato and I added garlic and white vinegar) but in fairly different proportions because I quadrupled the recipe and just started tweaking the ingredient amounts to our tastes as I went. The result is decently good salsa. Not as tasty really as really good tomato salsa and definitely not as good as regular salsa verde (which is my favorite), but still perfectly fine and WAY better than the majority of jarred salsas on the market. I gave away quite a bit of salsa to friends and plan to make another big batch to use up the last of my green tomatoes and then freeze it in containers. Great use for green tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
"S-o-u-p-e-r" good! Very thin like soup but the taste is out of this world- will make a great topping for taco salad and other Mexican Dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rusty222
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Just finished making it, it's so good I can't stop eating it. It's so easy to make, this will be a staple in our house all summer long. I'm thinking about dinner dishes to make using it, but it's so good with just chips, I may not have any left to cook with!!! GREAT RECIPE! Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rusty222

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Awesome! Very fresh tasting and so easy to throw together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
This is very good. I did substitute the Lime juice with Lemon juice and Apple Cider Vinegar because I didn't have any Lime juice on hand. I also added a few cloves of garlic. Alright I just tasted this after it cooled in the fridge and it's amazing. I'm eating some with bite size tortilla chips and it's sooooo good. Had to add another star. Thanks OLESEA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
I used tomatillos and green tomatoes and no red tomatoes, to keep it all green. If you use red tomatoes also, it will look more brown...not too pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Deliscious ,we left the jalapino seeds in the salsa hot and perfect .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
This is really great! Nice to find a green salsa recipe that didn't call for tomatillos. I followed the recipe as written. I used my leftover cilantro stems since it was all going in the food processor anyway. I can't wait to make enchiladas with it. I will make this to freeze every year from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Very easy, very good. I had no fresh jalapenos so I just used canned jalapenos and skipped boiling them, although I still boiled the tomatoes. This makes a lot of salsa, so if you aren't sure you may want to try this, you could probably halve the recipe. This was really good in the White Chili I recipe on here instead of the green chilis. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
I took this into work and I had one guy grow peppers in his backyard just to make it!!! It must be good!!! Seriously - it is! It is easy to either turn up the heat or turn it down but it is a great base recipe to start with - Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tomatillo Salsa Verde

Vibrant condiment sauce made with tomatillos.

Fire-Roasted Cherry Tomato Salsa

See what fire-roasting the tomatoes does for this simple salsa.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States