Mexina Salsa Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I didn't seed either of the jalapenos the first batch I made and woo-hoo was it hot! I made a 2nd batch with only 1 jalapeno, seeded and blended them, and it probably could have been a little hotter. I did add garlic and cumen, cut back on the lime juice and cilantro. GOT RAVE REVIEWS FOR THIS SALSA!!!! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: North Bend, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Added more spice,but was a hit in my family!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sama 24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
This was absolutely fantastic. I needed salsa verde and had green tomatoes in my garden. I won't have to buy salsa all summer thanks to this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Very good and easy. Next time I will add garlic, as recommended by some. It is not the real thing (like you get in a Mexican restaurant) but darn close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I made this today using the last of the summer's tomatoes. No jalapenos in my garden so I used Anaheims instead and I thought it turned out great. Also added some cumin as another review suggested. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I added cumin, which I highly recommend! The family enjoyed this, it was a GREAT way to use up the green tomatoes, and I made extra batches and froze them for later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I used all of the ingredients (minus the red tomato and I added garlic and white vinegar) but in fairly different proportions because I quadrupled the recipe and just started tweaking the ingredient amounts to our tastes as I went. The result is decently good salsa. Not as tasty really as really good tomato salsa and definitely not as good as regular salsa verde (which is my favorite), but still perfectly fine and WAY better than the majority of jarred salsas on the market. I gave away quite a bit of salsa to friends and plan to make another big batch to use up the last of my green tomatoes and then freeze it in containers. Great use for green tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
"S-o-u-p-e-r" good! Very thin like soup but the taste is out of this world- will make a great topping for taco salad and other Mexican Dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rusty222
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Just finished making it, it's so good I can't stop eating it. It's so easy to make, this will be a staple in our house all summer long. I'm thinking about dinner dishes to make using it, but it's so good with just chips, I may not have any left to cook with!!! GREAT RECIPE! Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rusty222

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Awesome! Very fresh tasting and so easy to throw together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Parsley Salsa Verde

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States