Mexina Salsa Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Very easy and tasty recipe. Used the sauce over chicken enchiladas and for dipping corn and jalapeño fritters. Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane McCauley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
The green tomatoes should be tomatillos. Never mix green and red. Add only half the amount of onion add 4 more tomatillos pablano pepper and 4 serranos. 1 teaspoon of cumin blsck pepper to taste. The tomatillos should be broiled boiling them takes away flavor same with sll peppers. The onion needs cooked so when all ingredients are blended boil on med. Heat for 1 hour to infuse all flavors together make sure you add a teaspoon of oil to it.I am mexican so ive eaten many salsas and made many as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I followed the recipe. It was so spicy I couldn't eat it. So, I added three more green tomatoes. Still, WAY too spicy. I can handle some heat, but this was like tasting fire. Next time I'll start with just 1/2 a pepper and add to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaJo Turner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
YUMMY! I did as others suggested and added a clove of garlic and used only 1/4 cup of cilantro. This recipe is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blessed Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Branch, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Delish! I'm not a big spicy person so I quartered the jalapeno (in my defense it was a giant pepper) and it still had a tasty kick. I did add garlic and cumin as others suggested, and used part lime, part lemon, and part apple cider vinegar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I used two kinds of green Italian heirloom tomatoes (no red tomatoes), 2 garlic cloves, himalayan sea salt and small amount of pineapple juice with the lime juice. I may consider adding some cornstarch to thicken up the verde.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
We love salsa verde and this recipe is so quick and easy we make a batch and leave in fridge for whenever we want to use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minden, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
My husband made this salsa to take to a football party today. In addition to the listed ingredients, he threw in a little fresh basil, used 1/2 lemon juice b/c we didn't have enough lime juice, and put in a little vinegar as some reviews suggested. The vinegar made it too strong/sour so he added 1/2 t. sugar. Then it was perfect! He got several compliments on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
I tried this receipe and found it to be awesome. Went to my garden and picked the last of the green tomatoes and made some salsa to can. Added some garlic clove and cumin which made all the difference. Thanks for the receipt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Great salsa but use lime juice to taste,I only use 1/8 cup and was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Almond and Parsley Salsa Verde

See how to prepare a lively, super-versatile fresh salsa.

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States