Mexican Zucchini Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
I made the mistake of substituting half of the processed cheese with shredded cheddar...not a good idea. The cheddar caused the soup to have really stringy cheese strands that stuck to my spoon...so not appetizing. Not sure I would ever make this again had I used just velvetta either as it is just ok, nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by homeschooler3
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
I changed this recipe slightly to fit what I had on hand. I did not have Mexican stewed tomatoes so I used a can of Ro-tel and left out the 4.5 oz can of green chilies. I also added a little bit more cheese. It turned out great. This is a nice way to serve up squash and zucchini. My oldest son liked his with crushed tortilla chips and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homeschooler3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
YUM! YUM! YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimaneye67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I have made this twice in the last two days! I substituted vegetable broth and left out the cilantro, but those are the only changes I made. I am a Velveeta hater, but in this recipe, it just works. This is an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERINBOW

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
Everyone loved..I did change it a bit though.Instead of canned corn, tomatoes and chili peppers, I used fresh (all but the corn was from my own garden!)I used chicken bullion(what I had) and used only 8 oz of the velveeta and 4 oz of sharp cheddar. I will probably be making many times more!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Center Barnstead, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
I added chicken and A LOT of cumin. This recipe definitely needs more spice. In addition to cumin, I also added chili powder and some fajita seasoning. I give it 3 stars as written, 5 stars with added seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by neva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
Yummy! I didn't have the yellow squash so I used shredded hash browns which really went well in it. Next time I think I will cut back on the oregano, and maybe add some chicken. Great recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Verde Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Very good. Nice way to use up those summer squash. I used yellow squash, a can of rotel and shredded taco cheese because that is what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
I liked this soup. I thought it had nice flavor and was easy to throw together. My husband liked it, but I think he is always hesitant to love something that doesn't contain meat. It was a nice change and more along my tastes than the hubby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
My husband and I thought this was a very tastey soup. I made it as written. The broth was thinner than I anticpated and I felt the cilantro was overpowering. I ate it again on day 2 and the cilantro mellowed out and the overall flavor was very good. I enjoy spicy foods and considered substituting Rotel, as other reviewers mentioned, but stuck to the recipe. I am glad I prepared this as written because with the cilantro and added spice, I think it would have masked the wonderful flavors of the vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 81-90 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States