Mexican Zucchini Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Excellent soup! I didn't have any cilantro, so I substituted dried parsley flakes, added at the same time as the oregano. Also, I used half Velveeta and half sharp cheddar, because we prefer cheese soups that way. My 10-year-old daughter loves it, too! Anything that gets kids eating vegetables is a success in my book. I want to try adding a can of drained and rinsed black beans next time. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Really good. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laguna Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This is fabulous healthy soup! I actually used one largish yellow squash, one largish zucchini, and one small bag of butternut squash. I also subbed 2% velveeta to save calories. Also, I ended up using 2 full cartons of chicken broth in this. I think it's best to just add the amount of broth you like and keep the other ingredient levels the same. It would have been a stew without the extra broth I added... maybe my veggies were bigger? I also added 2 heaping T of cornstarch mixed with water before adding the cheese - next time I will add even more cornstarch. It seems like a cream soup but no one can tell it's just broth, low fat cheese and cornstarch! love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KrisMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
sooo good, very addictive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Very good, but very spicy! I even used mild Rotel too! I might just use a regular can of tomatoes next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KBigler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brady, Texas, USA
Living In: Tomball, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
We loved this soup! Used rotelle as a substitute.....terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tristan'smom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
my new favorite soup! I used 2% velveeta and it was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4thegospel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Easy recipe and came together quickly. Everyone liked the soup so I would make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam from L.I.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sound Beach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
This has to be one of the best soups I've had. It was cheesy, creamy and hearty. I did reduce the amount of chiles because my family doesn't like things too spicy. I served it with the Mexican Potato Pancakes from AR...it made a perfect meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
My husband liked it, I thought it was just okay. It took about 30 minutes instead of 10 for my zucchini and squash to get tender. If I make this again, I would quarter the zucchini and squash and then slice. Didn't really care for the pastuerized cheese flavor. Maybe sub real cheese instead next time. But, it did have some good spiciness to it. That was my favorite part!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 71-80 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States