Mexican Zucchini Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
This soup was really rich and flavorful. Like others, I used a can of rotel instead of chile peppers and Mexican tomatoes. I also used about 4-6 ounces of Velveeta because I didn't want it to be like cheese dip. As a result, I ended up thickening it with corn starch. I used it as a side with pulled pork tacos. For leftovers, I may add some shredded chicken to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CN29URSERY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
This recipe is awesome! I used Rotel mexi tomatoes (not stewed) and then 1 can of tomatoes with green chiles...b/c my store was out of the canned green chiles. This soup has ALOT of spice and is sooooo fricken good. I didn't add cilantro in at the end simply because I forgot to...and it was still awesome. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
Needed more bulk so I added black beans and shredded chicken and less velveeta. It was really good then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Made this just as recipe states, it was deelicious ! Made another batch the next day, only change I made was to dice the squash & zucchini to make the consistency more like soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
This soup was fantastic. I ended up putting 3 zucchini and 3 squash in it because I was trying to use them up. I used chichekn boullion instead of the broth and added some dried cilantro instead of fresh so I could avoid a trip to the store. My husband added some leftover grilled chicken to his because he thinks everything has to have meat, but I thought it was delicious as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okemos, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
This was really good! I was looking for a way to use up some of the veggies from the garden in an inexpensive meal. I had the all the ingredients except the processed cheese. When I went to the store the price changed my mind. A couple of days later I drove by the dollar store and on a whim checked their grocery area. Found a 12 oz container of nacho cheese for and used that. The soup was GREAT and is now going to be something we make regularly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
This soup is amazing. I would eat it everyday if possible. The only things I did different were using about 15 oz of regular rotel instead of the mexican-stewed tomatoes and I used 16 oz of the cheese. I also added some thickener at the end because it was too thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aunt Ree

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Love this soup! I used a hand blender to puree it before adding the cheese (which I melted in the microwave w/ a bit of milk). We like a smooth soup and it was a great way to hide the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Oh, this was FANTASTIC! I used 3 zucchini's ( prefer zucchini over yellow squash any day) and I used chipolte corn and I didn't have any processed cheese so I used a jar of Ragu cheese and I added some cumin. Came out SOOOOO good. I would recommed this to anybody.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
It was ok. My husband and I both thought it was a little too cheesy. I might try this again some other time; maybe I just wasn't in the right frame of mind to have it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States