Mexican Zucchini Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This surprised me by being as good as it was. I made several changes based on what I had. (Sorry, I know people HATE that but I only review for my own future benefit when I revisit a recipe, so bear with me). I only had zucchini, but I did have four very small potatoes that were going soft, so I shredded all my veggies and sauteed them with the onion and garlic before adding the broth. Used fresh tomatoes and frozen corn (we don't much dig canned veg). I omitted the oregano (don't care for it in Mexican food) and added cumin, chili powder, and a dash of salt instead. Since it's a meatless meal, I added black beans for some protein. I avoid processed food so simply added a handful of real cheese (cheddar for the kids, pepperjack for the grownups) into each bowl with the hot soup. Served with sour cream and tortilla chips. Yum! Wish I'd had the yellow squash, it's a really tasty way to get some of the healthier veggies in (and you'll never miss the Velveeta, the real cheese is so much better)! Next time I might shred a carrot too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
good, used real cheese, the cheese didn't melt smoothly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
yuuuuum! found this recipe when i had a ton of yellow squash going bad -- and scored big with minimal adjustments. i did not use zucchini, only squash. threw in a leftover jar of green chile salsa and food processed some tomatoes in lieu of the canned tomatos/green chiles. added 8-10 dried red chiles for more spice. only 2 c. broth. browned the onions and a green pepper in oil, then threw everything in the crockpot for 4-5 hours on low, added 8 oz velveeta for the last hour. served with sour cream to cut some spice for myself (hubby and 2 yo liked the way it was). would've added cilantro had i not forgotten -- but loved it the way it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bumpass, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
This is one of the easiest and best tasting soups I've ever had! I add 2 large cans of cooked chicken (drained) to the mix just before I add the cubed cheese. Separate/shred the chicken chunks with a fork before you add it. I also like to cut up the stewed tomatoes to make them go a little further. I also throw in a few dashes of salt for my family's palate :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ksosbee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yale, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
It is a great hearty soup & healthy. Changes: I used more zucchini, squash, and chicken broth. I only had diced tomatos instead of mexican style. No cilantro. I added carrots and used 6 oz shredded cheddar. Will be making this again! Will be perfect during Lent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I made this as written with the exception of using shredded cheddar instead of the processed cheese food. Well, that must have been the problem because this didn’t work well for me at all. The cheese wouldn’t incorporate into the soup, so I tried binding it up with a cornstarch/water slurry, which did help a little, but not enough. The cheese was stringy and stuck to the bottom of the pan, our soup bowls and our spoons, and made for a very difficult clean up. The flavor of this was good, however, so if I make it again, I’ll have to break down and buy the processed cheese food even though I’m not a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Very good recipe. I used fresh tomato, fresh corn off the cob, and added fresh peppers for extra kick. I gave this recipe a 4/5 only because it took way longer than shown in the original recipe to cook the veggies. It was more like 25-30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catpawsoup

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
This recipe is okay as is but seems to be missing something substantial. I tried adding some spicy sausage to it, but it wasn't enough. I think next time I would add a can of Mexican hominy to it and beef it up a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cass Deliciae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
SO SOO SO soup-er!!!! Loved this soup. SO delish!!! Thanks for the recipe!! I made this but couldn't find Mexican flavored stewed tomatoes so I used rotel tomatoes and left our the can of green chilies, I also served it with cheddar shredded on top with warm tortillas, WOW this was so so so YUM!!! THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
What an awesome and forgiving recipe! I love it when you can deviate from the recipe and it’s still just as good as the original recipe. I used Rotel tomatoes, some Hatch chiles I had in the freezer, and a blend of different cheeses that I had on hand. The broth is actually thin, not like a thick cheese soup, which makes it perfect for the summer and an great way to use up fresh squash and other produce from the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States