Mexican Zucchini Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
This is a great recipe that is easy to customize - I added black beans and used Rotel instead of regular tomatoes. I would have given this five stars if only it didn't have Velveeta (which I love, but shouldn't eat as much as this soup would have me eat).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauraelise
Home Town: Lagrange, Ohio, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
My family is not fond of vegetables, especially large chunks, so I pureed the squash in a blender. I did add some cumin as suggested by others and We loved it!! Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Helena, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
We loved this soup. My son kept saying, "this is the best soup ever." I roasted all the veggies before turning them into the soup! So good. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I ended up using more onion therefore more broth. 16oz of the Velveeta Cheese and added 1 can of mild Rotel tomatoes. I like spicy but used mild ingredients and did not add pepper (my husband was having stomach problems)...I still liked it. The next time I'll use 1 can of medium Rotel tomatoes to spice it up for me:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDABISHOP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
Delicious! I cooked the onion and garlic in oil, plated and set aside. Added a little more oil and cooked the squash. Plated that and sat aside. Poured the broth into the same big pot and cooked the frozen corn, which I prefer over canned. Added the tomatoes and chilies and cubed cheese. Once the cheese was melted, I poured the onion, garlic and squash back into the mixture and added the chopped cilantro. This method allowed me to avoid overcooking any ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Vrsansky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Absolutely delicious! I didn't change a thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
My children didn't want it because of all the veggies and then one tried it and was amazed and then another...before long it was gone and everyone wanted more. Thank you so much. What a great way to use garden fresh squash, zucchini, cilantro, and jalapeño.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crooknook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
The family said this was a keeper! Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
I made this twice. Once as written (minus the chili peppers, I subbed bell pepper for a little less spice) and again with my own modifications based on what I had. I LOVED both. The second time I added ground turkey which I had cooked in homemade taco seasoning. I didn't have cubed cheese so I just stirred in some Mexican shredded cheese and sour cream...yuuummm! It's seriously delicious. Served with tortilla chips or bread. Thank you for this refreshing and versatile recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This surprised me by being as good as it was. I made several changes based on what I had. (Sorry, I know people HATE that but I only review for my own future benefit when I revisit a recipe, so bear with me). I only had zucchini, but I did have four very small potatoes that were going soft, so I shredded all my veggies and sauteed them with the onion and garlic before adding the broth. Used fresh tomatoes and frozen corn (we don't much dig canned veg). I omitted the oregano (don't care for it in Mexican food) and added cumin, chili powder, and a dash of salt instead. Since it's a meatless meal, I added black beans for some protein. I avoid processed food so simply added a handful of real cheese (cheddar for the kids, pepperjack for the grownups) into each bowl with the hot soup. Served with sour cream and tortilla chips. Yum! Wish I'd had the yellow squash, it's a really tasty way to get some of the healthier veggies in (and you'll never miss the Velveeta, the real cheese is so much better)! Next time I might shred a carrot too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States