Mexican Zucchini Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
It was delicious! I'm New Mexican so I feel I have a good opinion on this dish. Since my squash and zucchini came from my garden, they were a little bigger than store bought. Therefore I used 3 cans of broth, 2 10 oz cans of Mexican rotel (that is he only size here), and 16 oz cheese. It was perfect! I may add more corn next time. I waited until the end to add the green chili so my 3 year old could eat it with no problems. Lots of fresh flavors and a great way to use up squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
This was great! I don't buy "processed cheese food" so used some shredded cheddar and some cream cheese. Also used fresh chopped tomatoes since I had some I needed to use. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
I am not a big cook and even I was able to make this delicious soup. I can't wait to make it again just waiting for more zucchini and squash to grow in my garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Very good! I used half an orange pepper instead and a can of diced tomatoes. I chopped my veggies small for the kids and I added some protein with a can of rinsed white beans and 1/2lb of cooked ground turkey. They loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
This is a great recipe that is easy to customize - I added black beans and used Rotel instead of regular tomatoes. I would have given this five stars if only it didn't have Velveeta (which I love, but shouldn't eat as much as this soup would have me eat).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauraelise
Home Town: Lagrange, Ohio, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
My family is not fond of vegetables, especially large chunks, so I pureed the squash in a blender. I did add some cumin as suggested by others and We loved it!! Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Helena, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
We loved this soup. My son kept saying, "this is the best soup ever." I roasted all the veggies before turning them into the soup! So good. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I ended up using more onion therefore more broth. 16oz of the Velveeta Cheese and added 1 can of mild Rotel tomatoes. I like spicy but used mild ingredients and did not add pepper (my husband was having stomach problems)...I still liked it. The next time I'll use 1 can of medium Rotel tomatoes to spice it up for me:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDABISHOP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
Delicious! I cooked the onion and garlic in oil, plated and set aside. Added a little more oil and cooked the squash. Plated that and sat aside. Poured the broth into the same big pot and cooked the frozen corn, which I prefer over canned. Added the tomatoes and chilies and cubed cheese. Once the cheese was melted, I poured the onion, garlic and squash back into the mixture and added the chopped cilantro. This method allowed me to avoid overcooking any ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Absolutely delicious! I didn't change a thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States