Mexican Whole Wheat Flour Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Great recipe! Have made them a couple times now, and both times very easy. The only change I make is to sub coconut oil for the shortening. I also put the cooked tortillas in a ziploc bag as soon as I take them out of the frying pan (I use a non-stick pan and the burner set on "2"). This helps keep them moist and pliable. Very comparable to bought ones without all the chemicals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I'm not sure what happened. I followed it exactly and got HARD unusable dough. It was not elastic the way tortilla dough should be. I've made tortillas several times very successfully and couldn't believe I had to throw it all out. I just can't imagine what went wrong. I think next time I'll try oil instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hollisroberts

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
Excellent recipe! I had NEVER even attempted tortillas before. My first try resulted in a good tasting flat bread, but it wasn't a tortilla. My second try was great though! I LOVE these tortillas. I see no reason to ever buy from a store again, my husband helps me whip these up and we divide them up and freeze some so they last us quite a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
These are so easy and so good!!! I used a cup of lard (and added a pinch of baking soda per reviewers recommendations), everything else according to the recipe. Rubbing the lard into the flour mixture took me a little while, but it was nice and relaxing and felt good to my fingers. When kneading, I didn't need to add any flour at all--no sticking whatsoever! I just kept kneading until the dough was nice and pliable and smooth. Rolling them out took exactly the right amount of time for the tortilla in the pan to be ready to flip, then I counted 30 seconds, it was done, and on we went. Thank you so much for posting this INCLUDING your notes at the end!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
I used unrefined coconut oil for recipe. They are that much better than store bought (in fact I ate one plain which I would NEVER do with a store bought) but a lot of work for rolling out. My edges were really crinkly- not sure if that was due to type of shortening or....? Would try next time with olive oil maybe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I used olive oil instead of the shortening and added 1/2 tsp baking soda. Perfect! They roll out so easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Made these using oil. My husband liked them, I thought they were oily. Will try again using lard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valorie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Easy recipe, I followed the directions exactly and they mixed up perfect! The only reason I didn't give it a 5 star recipe is because of the salt taste (which I'll adjust next time) and the fact that they just didn't have as good of a taste as I was hoping for. I'll make them again with the adjustment to the salt and if that fixed the taste then I'll change it to a 5 star rating! As a side note for those who experience problems with the rolling part, I'll offer a couple of suggestions. First, look up what a French rolling pin is and get one of those and throw out your traditional rolling pin because you'll never go back! I also roll them out between sheets of waxed paper and was able to get them nice and thin without them sticking to anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jasper, Michigan, USA
Living In: Britton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Have never liked the flavor of store bought tortillas, and was excited to find this wonderful recipe for homemade ones! The recipe was easy to follow, using olive oil instead of shortening and, after letting them "rest" awhile, easily rolled them out and cooked them up in a very hot fry pan (no oil), not too long (about 30 seconds each side) so they were nice and soft. The flavor is fabulous and so much better than store bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EJLasko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Tapps, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Great recipe. I followed as directed and the dough came out soft and the tortillas where easy to roll. Thanks for this wonderful and healthier alternative to a household favorite. A KEEPER!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States