Mexican Whole Wheat Flour Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
I made these with ghee. Other than that, made exactly as written. Very good. A bit bland, but pretty much what I expect for a whole wheat tortilla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Really good. They taste WAY better than store bought! I will be making these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Great recipe! Have made them a couple times now, and both times very easy. The only change I make is to sub coconut oil for the shortening. I also put the cooked tortillas in a ziploc bag as soon as I take them out of the frying pan (I use a non-stick pan and the burner set on "2"). This helps keep them moist and pliable. Very comparable to bought ones without all the chemicals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I'm not sure what happened. I followed it exactly and got HARD unusable dough. It was not elastic the way tortilla dough should be. I've made tortillas several times very successfully and couldn't believe I had to throw it all out. I just can't imagine what went wrong. I think next time I'll try oil instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hollisroberts

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
Excellent recipe! I had NEVER even attempted tortillas before. My first try resulted in a good tasting flat bread, but it wasn't a tortilla. My second try was great though! I LOVE these tortillas. I see no reason to ever buy from a store again, my husband helps me whip these up and we divide them up and freeze some so they last us quite a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
These are so easy and so good!!! I used a cup of lard (and added a pinch of baking soda per reviewers recommendations), everything else according to the recipe. Rubbing the lard into the flour mixture took me a little while, but it was nice and relaxing and felt good to my fingers. When kneading, I didn't need to add any flour at all--no sticking whatsoever! I just kept kneading until the dough was nice and pliable and smooth. Rolling them out took exactly the right amount of time for the tortilla in the pan to be ready to flip, then I counted 30 seconds, it was done, and on we went. Thank you so much for posting this INCLUDING your notes at the end!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Jacques

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
I used unrefined coconut oil for recipe. They are that much better than store bought (in fact I ate one plain which I would NEVER do with a store bought) but a lot of work for rolling out. My edges were really crinkly- not sure if that was due to type of shortening or....? Would try next time with olive oil maybe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I used olive oil instead of the shortening and added 1/2 tsp baking soda. Perfect! They roll out so easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Made these using oil. My husband liked them, I thought they were oily. Will try again using lard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valorie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Easy recipe, I followed the directions exactly and they mixed up perfect! The only reason I didn't give it a 5 star recipe is because of the salt taste (which I'll adjust next time) and the fact that they just didn't have as good of a taste as I was hoping for. I'll make them again with the adjustment to the salt and if that fixed the taste then I'll change it to a 5 star rating! As a side note for those who experience problems with the rolling part, I'll offer a couple of suggestions. First, look up what a French rolling pin is and get one of those and throw out your traditional rolling pin because you'll never go back! I also roll them out between sheets of waxed paper and was able to get them nice and thin without them sticking to anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jasper, Michigan, USA
Living In: Britton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 291) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States