Mexican Whole Wheat Flour Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2002
WOW!!! These tortillas were great. The dough rolled out very thin and the taste was excellent. I don't think I will ever buy tortillas again. I had attempted making tortillas with another recipe first, and they turned out like frisbees, so I was skeptical. But it was well worth the try! For this recipe, I did the all white flour and used my food processor to mix the shortening with the flour. I followed the rest of the recipe as written, but used only 1 Tbsp of salt. I made a few different batches within the 1 to 8 hour resting period, and they all turned out equally well. Thank you Claudia for sharing this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
Great! I'll never buy tortillas again. Very easy recipe. The only tips I have is to watch the cooking time - too long and it gets crispy (softer is better), so make sure it's high heat and fast. Also, makes great healthy tortilla chips when cut into wedges and toasted in the oven around 225.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
342 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2003
I used my stand mixer to mix the flour, salt, and shortening. Then I switched to a dough hook to knead in the hot water. It works great! One note for novices: don't cut short on the water. Add it all to make it really soft & easy to roll out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shakopee, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2002
This recipe makes great tortillas. Knowing to rest the dough makes all the difference--the tortillas roll paper thin! I used Olive Oil in place of shortening and it worked fine--no hydrogenated fat that way. I also cut the salt to one tablespoon and it was still very salty. I'd say two teaspoons would be sufficient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
384 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2002
This is very good !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2002
Yep, these worked for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2002
Simple and nummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
These were really good. My husband now perfer wheat over white flour tortillas. I did use less salt (half of what was recommended) and I changed the oil to olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jadedhawk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2003
So delicious and so easy! I promise you will never buy tortillas again after making these. I used white flour and olive oil, then I filled then with a mixture of melted cheese and refried beans. Big Hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2003
My family loved these!! Didn't have any problems. Did, however, have to add (gradually) more water while mixing. No problems rolling them out, and enjoyed not having to buy the store bought kind!! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 291) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States