Mexican Whole Wheat Flour Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2002
This recipe makes great tortillas. Knowing to rest the dough makes all the difference--the tortillas roll paper thin! I used Olive Oil in place of shortening and it worked fine--no hydrogenated fat that way. I also cut the salt to one tablespoon and it was still very salty. I'd say two teaspoons would be sufficient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
378 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
Great! I'll never buy tortillas again. Very easy recipe. The only tips I have is to watch the cooking time - too long and it gets crispy (softer is better), so make sure it's high heat and fast. Also, makes great healthy tortilla chips when cut into wedges and toasted in the oven around 225.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
338 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
Thank-you, thank-you! My family cooks and measures the same way "a little of that... a pinch of that," etc. Made it extremely difficult for me to perfect my family's tortilla recipe. I was very happy so see your measurements for the ingredients, I had been experimenting for a few months. The only thing I would add is ½ teaspoon of baking soda. Don’t forget to follow the instructions. Mix the shorting with the dry ingredients well and make sure the mixture is consistent before adding the water. I recommend adding ½ of the water first and knead it a little bit, then add the remaining water and knead again. I tried this recipe twice, the first time I was lazy and put all the ingredients in at the same time and paid for it when my tortillas came out hard. The second time with a little patience-- they were perfect. For those of you who have to try this more than once, it’s normal-- flour tortillas are tricky. You might want to start by making 6 (1/3 of the recipe). In step three she uses the word “fry”, but it doesn’t mean use oil, she means cook it by putting on a frying pan (best if it’s a non-stick pan) or a skillet. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
247 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nikki
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
These came out to perfection! I used these in Quesadillas... and it gave them the perfect homemade Mexican touch. I was very impressed. Just a couple of things I wanted to mention. First of all, the directions are a bit confusing. It sounds like you are supposed to let it cook for 10 seconds (at which point you should see a bubble form) and then you should immediately flip it, letting it cook for 30 seconds... and then flip one more time, letting it cook for yet another 30 seconds. This is incorrect. Here is what you do. Place the tortilla on the griddle and let it sit until you see a bubble form (this can be up to a minute). As soon as you see the bubble, flip it, and let it sit for another 30 seconds. Immediately after you drop the tortilla on the griddle you should already begin rolling out your next one. You should be finished rolling it out by the time both sides of the first one are cooked. One more thing... the surface needs to be more than "lightly floured". If you are not careful, the tortilla will get stuck to your surface, and you will have to begin all over again. Make sure both sides of the tortilla are well floured, and you won't have any problems. All in all, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2004
I followed this recipe word for word and it was so dry and crumbley, regardless of how much more water I added. I couldn't roll it out and had to throw it away. I tried again however and used 1 1/4 cup veggie oil instead of 1/2 cup shortening. It turned out AWESOME! I will never ever by store brand again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
These tortillas are great! The advice to let the tortillas sit for at least an hour is definitely key to rolling them out correctly. I use all whole-wheat flour and olive oil, and they turn out terrific. My family loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2002
This is UNBELIEVABLE! I love this! I too used Olive Oil and used less salt. Although the recipe says it yields 18--mine yielded 25! This is a keeper and SOOOOO EEEEEasy! Quit buying them--make them! ;) Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2003
I used my stand mixer to mix the flour, salt, and shortening. Then I switched to a dough hook to knead in the hot water. It works great! One note for novices: don't cut short on the water. Add it all to make it really soft & easy to roll out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shakopee, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2002
WOW!!! These tortillas were great. The dough rolled out very thin and the taste was excellent. I don't think I will ever buy tortillas again. I had attempted making tortillas with another recipe first, and they turned out like frisbees, so I was skeptical. But it was well worth the try! For this recipe, I did the all white flour and used my food processor to mix the shortening with the flour. I followed the rest of the recipe as written, but used only 1 Tbsp of salt. I made a few different batches within the 1 to 8 hour resting period, and they all turned out equally well. Thank you Claudia for sharing this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2002
This is a good starting point, but definitely need to add more shortining. Also the second time I made them I added less salt and once formed into balls I covered them with wet paper towels for about 40 minutes, this seemed to work well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States