Mexican Whole Wheat Flour Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2002
This is very good !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2002
Yep, these worked for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2002
This recipe makes great tortillas. Knowing to rest the dough makes all the difference--the tortillas roll paper thin! I used Olive Oil in place of shortening and it worked fine--no hydrogenated fat that way. I also cut the salt to one tablespoon and it was still very salty. I'd say two teaspoons would be sufficient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
381 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2002
WOW!!! These tortillas were great. The dough rolled out very thin and the taste was excellent. I don't think I will ever buy tortillas again. I had attempted making tortillas with another recipe first, and they turned out like frisbees, so I was skeptical. But it was well worth the try! For this recipe, I did the all white flour and used my food processor to mix the shortening with the flour. I followed the rest of the recipe as written, but used only 1 Tbsp of salt. I made a few different batches within the 1 to 8 hour resting period, and they all turned out equally well. Thank you Claudia for sharing this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2002
Simple and nummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
These were really good. My husband now perfer wheat over white flour tortillas. I did use less salt (half of what was recommended) and I changed the oil to olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jadedhawk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
'Way too salty with the 2T salt. I agree that 2 teaspoons would be better. I also used 1 c. shortening/lard mixture (as mentioned at end of recipe) and it was too greasy. Less fat would be better. I'm looking forward to trying again but I think the recipe needs some adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2002
This is UNBELIEVABLE! I love this! I too used Olive Oil and used less salt. Although the recipe says it yields 18--mine yielded 25! This is a keeper and SOOOOO EEEEEasy! Quit buying them--make them! ;) Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
The problem very well may have been that of the cook, but these turned out yucky. They were hard, dry, inedible... I was hoping to find a healthy recipe, but I am now convinced that a good tortilla must be full of bad stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2002
This is a good starting point, but definitely need to add more shortining. Also the second time I made them I added less salt and once formed into balls I covered them with wet paper towels for about 40 minutes, this seemed to work well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States