Mexican Whole Wheat Flour Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
SO easy and SO good! I needed tortillas for fish tacos and these were so worth NOT driving to the store. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANA COLE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUZZANNA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I cut the recipe in half and made 10 large tortillas. I used olive oil instead of shortening, and I increased the amount of water because the dough was very dry. After forming the dough into balls, I let it sit for about 1/2 hour. The dough was very easy to work with and not sticky at all, and I was able to roll the tortillas paper thin. They fried up beautifully. Thanks for the great recipe: I'm going to use it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
These came out perfectly! I used Earth Balance vegan buttery spread instead of shortening. My husband was very impressed! I'll definitely be making these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
I cannot beleive whole wheat tortillas can taste this good. So tender and flavorful. Roll them thinner than you think they should be and don't be afraid to keep them well floured when rolling. Cook them fast over high heat; you made need to enlist an extra pair of hands to roll and cook at the same time, but it goes much faster than you expect. I thought this task would be much more burdensome, but it was so easy I can't beleive I haven't been making my own tortillas all along.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustinaKay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Great recipe. I used coconut oil instead of shortening and they came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb. B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Diamond Vale, Diego Martin, Trinidad And Tobago

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
I have used this recipe twice - with fabulous results. I never knew that wheat tortillas were so easy, although I am not surprised that they are so tasty when they are warm! All bread is wonderful that way. I don't know if I will only ever make my own from now on, but they sure are cheap, easy enough, and tasty enough - and I will always be able to have tortillas without going to the store! Recipe note: I find the hour rest utterly unnecessary. I am not certain what flaw in my finished product could be removed by waiting longer than the 20-30 minutes I tend to wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
Love it! I use canola oil and use half white flour. Much better then store bought! The kids love to help and make their own. DEFINITELY let it rest 4 hrs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
didnt sick together and the one i didnt get to roll it out it just split and when it didnt crack it was really hard and didnt roll after i cooked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by senkyb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Amazing! I used canola oil in place of the shortening and regular ww flour in place of the ww bread flour. They turned out so good!!! Just ate two for lunch with chopped tomatoes & avocado inside. YUM! Will never buy store ww tortillas again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Being born and raised in AZ, tortillas are a staple in our household. That being said, these were just ok. I took other reviewers advice and substituted olive oil for the shortening. Worked great for the Guaco-Taco recipe (also on here) that I needed it for. But I ate one plain and was completely unimpressed for the amount of work involved and ending nutritional value compared to store bought whole-wheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NativeAZMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States