Mexican Whole Wheat Flour Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
This recipe was exactly what I was looking for. I used olive oil instead of shortening/lard, and it turned out great! I made soft taco's with these tortillas, they were the best ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna Cole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Really yummy tortillas, way nicer than the supermarket ones. I didn't have whole wheat bread flour so I sieved some normal stuff (I don't like too much of the bran). The golf ball sized ones were a little small so I made a few big ones as well, they were quite troublesome to roll even with a tortilla press but they eventually got there, probably just needed more resting time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooch656

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porirua, Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
these were not as tender as i was expecting, i will try a recipe i found that has baking powder and see if that makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I love this recipe! It's so simple and yummy! My favorite is the all white flour one, I've tried with the whole wheat flour and that's pretty good, but we prefer white flour tortillas. I tried it with veg/olive oil and they were ok, but again we prefer the taste of the shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krisser73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
These were way too dry and hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wrangell, Alaska, USA
Living In: Arlington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
used all whole wheat flour (maybe a tablespoon or two less) because ww absorbs more moisture. also replaced shortening with EVOO. Excellent recipe, never thought tortillas is that easy to make. i didn't have to use any flour to roll out the dough since my silicone mat and rolling pin are well "seasoned" - everytime i clean the pin or mat, i only used wet paper towel so like my wok, don't have to worry about things sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kowloon City, Kowloon Peninsula, Hong Kong
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Sometimes technique makes all the difference. I made a different recipe that I found in Taste of Home magazine, same ingredients different directions. The first 2 came out like huge round crackers. This recipe saved the rest of the batch by providing the proper technique to make wonderfully soft and fluffy tortillas. Thanks for sharing the recipe and your mom's technique Claudia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
After trying this recipe several times, I finally got the perfect tortillas by making these changes: I used a pancake griddle to cook them. That way it was evenly cooked with no brown spots. I used all Olive oil, that I mixed with the hot water before adding to the flour (Much easier than rubbing the shortening in the flour and then adding the water!) Add a few more tablespoons of water than the recipe calls for and it will be easier to roll out. (But don't add too much otherwise it will become very sticky) Also the tortillas tasted better when I cooked the tortillas immediately after preparing the dough (no need to let the dough sits for hours - it drys out!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
This was my first attempt at making tortillas. I think I need to work on it more ;) I did think they tasted great, especially fresh, but mine turned out blackened in spots. I burned the first two at high heat, turned it down to halfway between medium and medium-low for the rest of the batch, and that worked better. There's probably a trick to this I'm not aware of...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
I thought these were hard to roll out, they kept breaking. I am going to try more white flour next time to hopefully make them more pliable. They tasted great and worked for the tacos I made them for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seelymo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States