Mexican Whole Wheat Flour Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I recently moved away from Texas and was really missing the taste of homemade tortillas. These tortillas taste fantastic and are very simple to make. I use butter instead of lard, and they still turn out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenthumb0027

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boerne, Texas, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Great recipe, I used 1/4 cup olive oil and 1/4 cup shortening. But did anyone else about die getting them rolled out! I am having a new found admiration for whoever rolls out enough us these on a daily basis for a large family. My wrists are tired! Is there some secret to do this without a struggle??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Yummy. The trick is, you have to use very hot water for the dough. This way you you won't have to use any flour later to roll it out (the more flour the harder it would be). You can easily make it as thin as you wish. Definitely a keeper receipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
first time making flout tortillas... used 3/4c olive oil... will try adding 2t baking powder. Dough was a little on the dry side. Easier than I thought and I will try again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
These are awesome and easy to make! I made them successfully the first time I tried them and I generally mess recipes up the first three times I try them!! There is an art to perfecting the temperature, haha! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Just finished making these tortillas. I ate one plain right after cooking and it was delicious. I made mine as the recipe stated but I added fresh herbs, chopped rosemary and thyme, to the flour mixture. I had to add a tablespoon or so extra water to the dough to get a good texture and I also layered the cooked tortillas between damp paper towel b/c the edges seemed to get a little dry as they cooled. They cooked very nicely and I loved that they were made with olive oil. I can't wait for lunch tomorrow for the true test. I am sure I will enjoy my wrap. Will surely make these again and experiment with other additions. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
total failure. tasted like plain wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mountainmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fryeburg, Maine, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
You definitely need to play with the ingredient amounts to come up with a nice, pliable dough....the first couple I tried to roll into a ball were on the dry side, so I added a tich more water and needed the dough some more....I got 18 small-ish size tortillas out of the batch using a golf ball size. I took some reviewers advice and used Olive Oil in place of shortening (healthier). Also added 2 heaping tablespoons of ground flax seed for a boost of nutrition. Overall, great recipe, as I said, just need to tweak it to your liking and consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
EXCELLENT. I was able to roll these out super thin and they tasted fantastic. I've never had a whole wheat tortilla from the store, and now I know I never need to try one! Next time I'll experiment with olive oil and perhaps slightly less salt. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kumquatgirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Use this recipe every week! Perfect! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 291) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States