Mexican Whole Wheat Flour Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
These were terrific! I used expeller expressed coconut oil (no flavor)as my oil. I have a tortilla press so these came out not only perfect shaped but delicious! As they get done, I stack them in an open ziplock bag laying on its side (they can touch) so the steam continues to do its magic as I finish the batch. then store them in same bag. YUM YUM YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
I love them, the kids love them. I use only hwole wheat flour and do not add salt since the filling is usually salty. I make them all the time even though it is time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
I rated this based on my changes. I found this dough super easy to work with. I let it rest for an hour because I had phone calls to make anyway. I used half and half all purpose and whole wheat flours and olive oil in place of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn Leaves

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Perfect tortillas first try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
These were very easy and tasty. I used olive oil instead of shortening and they came out very well. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Good, but a little dry and crumbly. I think it needed more Crisco. I used self rising flour and left out the salt. I scaled this down and it worked out fine. I had my black iron skillet over med-hi heat and it took these about 1 min per side to bubble. The water does not have to be boiling just hot from the tap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Wow-loved it! I went with 2C whole wheat flour and 3C all purpose and I used 3/4C olive oil. We ate fajitas and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SooperLowa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
This recipe creates perfect tortillas. I have never had any better. Though I did need to add more fat than called for (about 20-30% more). A note: I've waited and not waited the hour and did not find a significant difference to avoid this recipe when in a rush; so don't worry if you don't have the time to wait around an hour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I recently moved away from Texas and was really missing the taste of homemade tortillas. These tortillas taste fantastic and are very simple to make. I use butter instead of lard, and they still turn out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenthumb0027

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boerne, Texas, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Great recipe, I used 1/4 cup olive oil and 1/4 cup shortening. But did anyone else about die getting them rolled out! I am having a new found admiration for whoever rolls out enough us these on a daily basis for a large family. My wrists are tired! Is there some secret to do this without a struggle??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States