Mexican Whole Wheat Flour Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
These were fairly easy to make for me even though it was my first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lola87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Great recipe! I follow the recipe exactly. I love to make breakfast burritos with these by mixing together 1 lb sausage with about 5 eggs (scrambled). I just wrap 'em up into the burrito, then wrap 'em again in plastic wrap, and pop 'em in the freezer! They can be microwaved good as fresh in less than a minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ana C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mingo Junction, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hammondsville, Ohio, USA
Photo by bigmommablack
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I made these for Chicken Fajitas. This is a great basic recipe but I did notice that my dough was a little dry and crumbly after incorporating the boiling water. I just added a little more water than the recipe called for and that seemed to help it. I used all King Arthur's Whole Wheat Unbleached White Flour and 1/2c Canola Oil and 1/4c Olive Oil. I also used a small saucer to measure perfectly round tortillas. They tasted SO good my son couldn't get enough of them. Will DEFINITELY make this recipe again. It was surprisingly easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
I made these last year. Loved them. Started making all our bread and got "off" tortillas. Bought a pkg. from the store. . .tasteless. . .Made these again today. Not buying them anymore. These have a great taste and they're really not all that hard to make. I don't use a press. I prefer them rolled very thin (they puff up when they "bake" on the griddle). Very good recipe! Thank you! You could add more flavor to your tortillas, if you wish, by adding onion powder, garlic, etc. I didn't even need to flour my counter today, so none of that "burnt flour" taste on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadySparkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
These are excellent tortillas. I substituted bread flour for the white flour (because we are trying to stay away from white flour) and used butter for the shortening. I don't know if it was using bread flour or the fact that I live in the desert, but I found I needed an extra quarter cup or so of water. I also found that the tortillas were difficult to roll out, using only ½ cup shortening. The taste is great, so I will be making these again. Next time I will use at least ¾ cup of butter. (I got the idea for butter from a tortilla recipe on the Mexconnect.com site, which is really good if you add another cup of flour). We live in El Paso, with a majority Hispanic population, and we have discovered that the best tortillas we've every had are rolled very thin. One nice thing about this recipe is that even when you roll the dough out thin enough to be transparent, it still lifts off the pastry mat easily. Also, I did not need to use any flour during the rolling process. Have made them a second time, this time using ¾ cup of shortening, and they rolled out very easily. This time I substituted mesquite flour for the white flour, and they turned out even better (if that's possible). The mesquite adds a sweetness with a hint of vanilla, which is wonderful. The first time I made these I made balls about 1.75 ounces; this time I tried the recommended 2 ounce size. The smaller ones are much easier to handle, especially when rolled very thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
this is a very easy recipe to make ,mine yeailed 28 small /medium tortilas . the taste was excellent I will never buy store bought again also they are much more healthy then the store bought ones . I will freaze half and keep half out .thankyou for sharing your moms recipe .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Substitute low fat butter instead of shortening and only use 1 tsp of salt. I waited 30 mins for the dough instead of min. 1hr and they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
This recipe is great! I used all whole wheat flour (5 cups) and replaced the shortening with softened butter. The recipe makes a lot so I put them in the freezer and take them out as I need them. Perfect system. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Freeville, New York, USA
Living In: Tyngsboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Delish. Made with fresh ground flour and only used 4 cups and it turned out great. The family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 291) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States