Mexican Whole Wheat Flour Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
In a country without tortillas, this is a lifesaver. I followed another reviewers advice and used olive oil and half the salt. I let the dough rest an hour and a half and used my heated press, and they turned out super. Guilt-free wraps and burritos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Bacau, Bacau, Romania

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
easy and delicious just as written
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Evilchicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Homemade whole wheat tortillas have become a mainstay in my home, thanks in part to this excellent recipe! I use canola oil instead of shortening (although I would like to try it with shortening sometime), but otherwise I follow the recipe exactly. Some reviewers mentioned that these are labour-intensive-- problem solved by making 6-9 at a time. I spend 10 minutes preparing the dough an hour ahead of time and 10-15 minutes rolling and frying at dinner time. It's super easy! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Fast & easy! I've never made my own shells before. Can't figure out why now! These were really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imtassiethatsme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
An excellent recipe and so easy to make! The only substitutions I made were to replace the shortening with canola oil and a little less salt (just my personal tastes). We will never eat store-bought tortillas again. Thank you for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dinerdiva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
This recipe makes great tortillas! I would give it 5 stars, but I used olive oil in place of the shortening. I also used all white whole wheat flour. The tortillas were delicious. I don't think I can go back to store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rural chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Iuka, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
This recipe is fantastic! I used canola oil instead of shortening and that worked just fine. During the kneading process, I did add a bit more oil to help bind the dough. Overall, it was a bit of work but so worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I used a little over 1/2 cup of olive oil instead of shortening and followed the instructions carefully. DRY DRY DRY! I stopped trying to roll them out and fry them...My advice: *if* you want to try this recipe, take some of the previous suggestions and make half of the recipe first to see if it'll work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
These were fairly easy to make for me even though it was my first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lola87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States