Mexican Whole Wheat Flour Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Really great. The only thing was that I needed substantially more water than the recipe called for - I probably added another 1/2 - 3/4 cup extra. After that though - really delicious. I was able to roll them out really thin, which was great. I used an olive oil spray to spray the frying pan, and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
I really like this recipe. Like other reviewers, I substituted olive oil for shortening and used all wheat flour. Also covered with moist paper towel while dough was resting. My hesitation in making these is that I LOVE the uncooked Tortilla Land tortillas that you can buy at Sam's Club and Costco because I love being able to make them fresh when I'm ready to eat them. So, when I made these I set several dough balls aside and did not cook them. I rolled them out, laid them on top of each other, placed them flat in a gallon size ziplock bag, and stored them in the refrigerator. Then when I wanted to use a tortilla I cooked it at that point. I'm happy to report that it worked perfectly...just like Tortilla Land. The rolled out tortilla dough was easy to pull apart and cooked great. I used them within a couple days, so I don't know how long they will keep, but I'm thrilled! Next time I make these, I think I'll try putting herbs in the dough. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
oh my goodness! this was EXCELLENT!!! we used them as wraps for sandwiches and they were so soft and chewy and moist! my only suggestion is to add just a wee bit more salt and to use butter instead of shortening. crisco or any hydrogenated oil gives me the heebeegeebees! if i'm going to eat fat, i'm going to eat REAL fat...not fat made in a factory! overall, an EXCELLENT healthier tortilla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
I tried this recipe two times. Once with olive oil once with shortening. Both times the dough came out incredibly dry and so very difficult to knead. I don't know what happened. I followed the instructions. I chalked it up to the wheat flour I guess. I too was looking for a healthier tortilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Good flavor. I increased the balls to 4oz and still only got about 8" tortillas, but I may not have rolled them thin enough. 2oz of dough rolled out to about 4", perfect for taco shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marion, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
Great recipe! But definitely read through the reviews. Mine were delish, but came out a little crispy on the edges. I am thinking I didn't incorporate the shortening well enough before adding the water. Also, Whole Foods carries organic all-vegetable shortening. (no trans!) Just remember tortillas take practice, but don't be afraid to give it a try! Very worth your effort. (I also made these completely whole wheat, no white flour.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Great tasting and healthy, fairly simple to make. Didn't even crumble like the ones my mom used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Surprisingly soft and tasty for a recipe with such a high ratio of wheat to white flour! I will make these again, albeit with a bit less salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Very good tortillas...the only thing I changed was I used olive oil in place of the shortening, just to make it healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I have used this recipe several times. It's easy & always turns out great! Freezes well. My family prefers these home made shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rathergrowit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Granite City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Madison, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States