Mexican Whole Wheat Flour Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Amazing! I used canola oil in place of the shortening and regular ww flour in place of the ww bread flour. They turned out so good!!! Just ate two for lunch with chopped tomatoes & avocado inside. YUM! Will never buy store ww tortillas again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Being born and raised in AZ, tortillas are a staple in our household. That being said, these were just ok. I took other reviewers advice and substituted olive oil for the shortening. Worked great for the Guaco-Taco recipe (also on here) that I needed it for. But I ate one plain and was completely unimpressed for the amount of work involved and ending nutritional value compared to store bought whole-wheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NativeAZMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Very difficult to roll out and definitely difficult to make any neat shape. Very dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foxyquilter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
These were ok, just a bit too time consuming for me. The dough is really dry, but adding water helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
I could only find plain bread flour so I mixed half with whole wheat flour, and used olive oil instead of shortening. Turns out fabulous! Super easy, super tasty! I'll never buy tortillas from the store again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
This is a not a beginner friendly recipe. I followed this recipe exactly (without reading the footnote) and my tortillas turned out hard and dry. It took me forever to roll out the dough, much longer than the minute or so described in the directions. Even though the recipe says to fry on high heat, don't heat the pan on high or spray it or add oil, the tortillas will just soak up the oil or burn even if you watch them. I'm all for healthy cooking, but the ratio of flour to fat is off. At the very least, this needs a little more shortening. I strongly recommend reading the footnote before hand or finding a completely different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
found them very hard to roll out, I will add more water next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
AWESOME WW Tortilla! I used Grapeseed Oil instead of shortening and only whole wheat flour ... they turned out Great! Was very surprised at how easily they rolled out .. no sticking, no mess at all. Can't see a reason to buy tortillas at the store as good as these taste!! Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHOgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Napoleon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Just made these and they are SOOOO good! I always make my tortillas, but pretty much use a different recipe every time since I never find one I love. These were GREAT! I increased the recipe to 24 servings and ended up getting 32 good size tortillas out of it. They roll very thin. I use oil instead of shortening and had to add a little bit more boiling water since they were a little dry. Also I added a tsp of baking powder and mixed it all with my dough hook on my kitchenaid. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I used 1/2 the salt, and substituted coconut oil for the shortening. Almost set the house on fire because I used my cast iron pan. They didn't roll out into perfect circles. I was afraid I burnt them because of all the smoke from my pan (I had the heat set really high). But O.M.G!!!!!!!!! They tasted SO GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 291) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States