Mexican White Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
Loved this! Creamy, colorful and tasty, this was a welcome alternative to the traditional tomato-based Mexican rice. Hubs and I are not big fans of cooked carrots, but because I wanted the color it lends, I substituted orange bell pepper instead. It, along with the poblano peppers, peas and corn, made this "confetti" rice very visually appealing. I also gave the rice a pinch of saffron for added color and flavor, tho' it wasn't necessary and certainly no criticism of the recipe. A great accompaniment to our Grilled Tequila-Lime Shrimp and Easy Grilled Zucchini, both recipes also from this site. I would make this again in a heart beat. My only criticism is that it needs salt and pepper, big time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
This rice is really good. I followed the recipe exactly, except I fried the rinsed rice in a tablespoon of oil for several minutes as another reviewer suggested, then added the carrots and cooked a few more minutes and then added all the other ingredients. It was very tasty. I will definitely be making this again. And it will go into my printed recipe book of our favorite recipes. It's a keeper. Had poached salmon with it last night and tonight will have leftovers with chicken and gravy. This rice goes with so many different kinds of foods. My family really liked it. Thanks for posting it Tequila.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
awsome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
This is great rice! I did make some changes which might be kind of cheating but I used Minute Rice (sorry!), diced habanero and two diced poblano peppers. I followed the liquid exactly and used two cups of the rice. I added the veggies as listed and a little seasoning salt at the end. This was super tasty and a great side dish. Maybe add a little protein and make it a main dish. The rice was tender, only slightly creamy and a little spicy. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
KitchenDiva- There is plenty of liquid for the recipe. 1 cup water and 1 cup milk, which follows general procedures. This rice turned out well for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
This recipe was extremely simple, and I will definitely use it again. Sauted all of my vegetables first, then added the rice to toast before adding liquids. Opted to add in some additional spices (paprika, chipotle, garlic, mexican oregano, ancho chilis) to give it a kick, and it really balanced well with the sweetness of the carrots, peas, and corn. I'm not exactly sure if the addition of milk added something extra or not...I honestly did not notice a taste, texture, or consistency difference from when I only use chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INTELLIBLONDE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredonia, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
I made this recipe exactly as directed. It was ok, but was a little dry. I don't think I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.PB cookie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Turned out pretty well. Didn't have a problem with it sticking or being "creamy". Lacked a little in flavor though, so may add more spices next time. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERIEO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, Kansas, USA
Living In: Goddard, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Ate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vikki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Used frozen peas and carrots and a jalapeno pepper in place of the poblano. Turned out nicely, although I didn't use the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

How to Make Perfect White Rice

Discover the simple tricks to making perfect rice without a rice cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States