Mexican White Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
My only complaint on this was it made a mess of my pot. I cooked it on low, because that's what work for rice on my range. I only had skim milk so used it for the whole milk and water. I didn't find it creamy like others, so I don't think you'll get that if you fat free milk like I did. I also used frozen peas and corn and added them after sauteing the other veggies. That was simply for preference, we like the texture better that way. There isn't really any seasoning in this but it would be easy to add any number of herbs/spices to fit it to your meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Really few Mexican groups make the rice so, it's nice it find a legitimate recipe for it on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
We loved it! So delicious. I used frozen 'roasted' corn from Trader Joes that enriched the flavor even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin'sKitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
Very easy to make and it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
This is not bad, but I must say - Mexicans do NOT cook like this, so really it's not fair to call this "Mexican rice." What you want to do is rinse the rice, then sautee it in some vegetable or olive oil until it starts to become brown. Add the vegetables (Try before the rice gets too brown, so it doesn't burn), and you can use water and chicken stock / broth, one or the other or both, if you wish. Milk is not used to make savory rices, it makes it sticky. Save the milk for when you make arroz con leche. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
Loved this! Creamy, colorful and tasty, this was a welcome alternative to the traditional tomato-based Mexican rice. Hubs and I are not big fans of cooked carrots, but because I wanted the color it lends, I substituted orange bell pepper instead. It, along with the poblano peppers, peas and corn, made this "confetti" rice very visually appealing. I also gave the rice a pinch of saffron for added color and flavor, tho' it wasn't necessary and certainly no criticism of the recipe. A great accompaniment to our Grilled Tequila-Lime Shrimp and Easy Grilled Zucchini, both recipes also from this site. I would make this again in a heart beat. My only criticism is that it needs salt and pepper, big time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
This rice is really good. I followed the recipe exactly, except I fried the rinsed rice in a tablespoon of oil for several minutes as another reviewer suggested, then added the carrots and cooked a few more minutes and then added all the other ingredients. It was very tasty. I will definitely be making this again. And it will go into my printed recipe book of our favorite recipes. It's a keeper. Had poached salmon with it last night and tonight will have leftovers with chicken and gravy. This rice goes with so many different kinds of foods. My family really liked it. Thanks for posting it Tequila.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
awsome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
This is great rice! I did make some changes which might be kind of cheating but I used Minute Rice (sorry!), diced habanero and two diced poblano peppers. I followed the liquid exactly and used two cups of the rice. I added the veggies as listed and a little seasoning salt at the end. This was super tasty and a great side dish. Maybe add a little protein and make it a main dish. The rice was tender, only slightly creamy and a little spicy. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
KitchenDiva- There is plenty of liquid for the recipe. 1 cup water and 1 cup milk, which follows general procedures. This rice turned out well for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

How to Make Perfect White Rice

Discover the simple tricks to making perfect rice without a rice cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States