Mexican White Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I made this delicious rice recipe! thank you for sharing! But is better with less milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
This Rice has become our go-to side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monalisa_09

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by agonza
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
I loved this! I changed it a little based on the ingredients I had available. I skipped the onion and the milk, used 2 cups of water and added one bay leaf and some parsley. It came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
My only complaint on this was it made a mess of my pot. I cooked it on low, because that's what work for rice on my range. I only had skim milk so used it for the whole milk and water. I didn't find it creamy like others, so I don't think you'll get that if you fat free milk like I did. I also used frozen peas and corn and added them after sauteing the other veggies. That was simply for preference, we like the texture better that way. There isn't really any seasoning in this but it would be easy to add any number of herbs/spices to fit it to your meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Really few Mexican groups make the rice so, it's nice it find a legitimate recipe for it on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
We loved it! So delicious. I used frozen 'roasted' corn from Trader Joes that enriched the flavor even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin'sKitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
Very easy to make and it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
This is not bad, but I must say - Mexicans do NOT cook like this, so really it's not fair to call this "Mexican rice." What you want to do is rinse the rice, then sautee it in some vegetable or olive oil until it starts to become brown. Add the vegetables (Try before the rice gets too brown, so it doesn't burn), and you can use water and chicken stock / broth, one or the other or both, if you wish. Milk is not used to make savory rices, it makes it sticky. Save the milk for when you make arroz con leche. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
Loved this! Creamy, colorful and tasty, this was a welcome alternative to the traditional tomato-based Mexican rice. Hubs and I are not big fans of cooked carrots, but because I wanted the color it lends, I substituted orange bell pepper instead. It, along with the poblano peppers, peas and corn, made this "confetti" rice very visually appealing. I also gave the rice a pinch of saffron for added color and flavor, tho' it wasn't necessary and certainly no criticism of the recipe. A great accompaniment to our Grilled Tequila-Lime Shrimp and Easy Grilled Zucchini, both recipes also from this site. I would make this again in a heart beat. My only criticism is that it needs salt and pepper, big time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
This rice is really good. I followed the recipe exactly, except I fried the rinsed rice in a tablespoon of oil for several minutes as another reviewer suggested, then added the carrots and cooked a few more minutes and then added all the other ingredients. It was very tasty. I will definitely be making this again. And it will go into my printed recipe book of our favorite recipes. It's a keeper. Had poached salmon with it last night and tonight will have leftovers with chicken and gravy. This rice goes with so many different kinds of foods. My family really liked it. Thanks for posting it Tequila.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

How to Make Perfect White Rice

Discover the simple tricks to making perfect rice without a rice cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States