Mexican White Cheese Dip/Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
I think the people that are giving this a low rating are simply using the wrong type of cheese. You HAVE TO use white american cheese (not white cheddar or monterey jack). You can get Land O' Lakes sliced white american cheese in the deli and it is the only type that will melt correctly. Other than that, I use a can of jalapenos and some of the jalapeno juice and omit that butter. This is the recipe they use in Mexican restaurants...I know because I asked my favorite Mexican place and they told me the same thing. It. Is. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
320 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2011
I made the dip exactly as written & this dip is not edible. I gave it 3 stars because I worked on it this week & the recipe is fixable. I am a garlic lover & all my life I have said "you can never have too much garlic for me". Well I can't say that anymore. 2 tsp of garlic powder is equivalent to 16 cloves of garlic! in 1LB of cheese?!? >> On to the fix... 1st let me address the best cheese to use... "Land o Lakes Extra Melt American Cheese". This comes from the Land o Lakes Foodservice (a.k.a. restaurant) line which is sold in large quantity & not readily available at the grocery store. I found it at a local Mexican Supermarket but I had to buy a 5LB package for $18. That's a lot of cheese! Also key is to heat the milk & butter in your pan (no dbl broiler req'd) on low heat until hot. Then grate the cheese & add a little bit at a time to the hot milk stirring & letting it melt slowly. Do not be temped to turn the eye above the low setting even for a sec :o) >> Ok now on to the ingredient amounts that I used: 16oz Land o Lakes Extra Melt American Cheese; 1-1&1/2 cup milk depending on your thickness preference (if you want to use half & half you will need to use more); 1 TBSP butter; 1/4-1/2 cup diced jalapeno peppers with juice from a jar (adjust for your heat preference); 2 tsp cumin; 1/2 tsp garlic powder; 1/2 tsp onion powder; 1/2 tsp dried cilantro. Use those ingredients in those quantities & you will have a 5 star rated taste-tested crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
176 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pelham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
I used exactly what the recipe called for - white america cheese. In fact, I could only find it in individually wrapped slices and the end result was fantastic. I will say that during the stirring and adding more milk I probably used double of what the recipe called for and added some more spices to account for that. I'm making it again this weekend and plan to be a little heavier handed with the spices to begin with since I know I'll be adding more milk than it originally called for. Either way, this is a SUPER easy and SUPER tasty white cheese dip recipe. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
This was a nice change of pace from the usual velveeta and rotel dip. It is a similar recipe to mexican restaurants that serve the white cheese dip. The restaurant cheese dip isn't spicy to me, just flavorful and kid friendly, as is this dip. It is pretty thick so I added quite a bit more milk to bring it to the consistency I prefer. You can easily make this more spicy by adding more cayenne pepper, red pepper flakes, or even subbing jalapenos for 1 or both of the green chiles however, I don't think it's necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
My daughter had this sauce at a restaurant recently. I used this recipe to duplicate what she called, the best sauce ever. After tasting this sauce, she said, "No, this is THE BEST SAUCE EVER!" I used the Land O Lakes white american cheese and it melted perfectly. This is now a must have on Mexican Night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I was so excited to find a white queso recipe, it's one of my favs, but this did not do what I've had justice. Velveeta actually makes a whie American cheese in the big blocks now (in the unref part of the grocery store) to use for this. I halved the amount of spices, and I can't imagine adding all of it. I would suggest doing half, and then adding more to your tastes if you are interested in making this. I also think the Mexican place I get this at uses jalepenos, and not green chiles. I will keep searching, as this one wasn't for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I AM SO FRUSTRATED WITH THIS RECIPE.. I FOLLOWED THIS TO THE T, AND ALL I GOT WAS CHUNKY CHEESE AND MILK AND BUTTER FLOATING ON THE TOP. I MADE THIS RECIPE FOR MY HUSBAND BECAUSE HE LOVED IT AT THE MEXICAN DINER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Well, it may be a little expensive for a dip but well worth it. Don't pass this recipe up, it is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linnj68

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Saint Marys, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Very good! I did make a couple changes. Used half the recommended garlic and omited the onion because we were out. Found the white american cheese at the deli. Came out perfectly! For those having difficulties this is one of those things you can't rush. I cooked it on low (1 to 2) on my glass top, it took a good 30min to melt perfectly smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pimento Cheese

See how to make a creamy, slightly spicy pimento cheese spread.

White Cheese Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated 3-cheese white lasagna.

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States