Mexican White Cheese Dip/Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I was so excited to find a white queso recipe, it's one of my favs, but this did not do what I've had justice. Velveeta actually makes a whie American cheese in the big blocks now (in the unref part of the grocery store) to use for this. I halved the amount of spices, and I can't imagine adding all of it. I would suggest doing half, and then adding more to your tastes if you are interested in making this. I also think the Mexican place I get this at uses jalepenos, and not green chiles. I will keep searching, as this one wasn't for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
So good, exactly like the sauce at my favorite Mexican restaurant! I put this over burritos and make mexican rice for a side. A great meal that I don't need to go out for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
The kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
Excellent! Thanks for sharing I have been trying this on my own with no luck. Its perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Close, but no cigar. It's a good enough dip on its own, but no match for the kind found in restaurants. You will not find an exact recipe for the restaurant-style dip because the restaurants use a special kind of processed cheese purchased in bulk and melted for dipping with a few ingredients added. (This cheese is packaged for restaurants and, in my travels, has not been made available to the public.) This is satisfactorily close, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2011
I made the dip exactly as written & this dip is not edible. I gave it 3 stars because I worked on it this week & the recipe is fixable. I am a garlic lover & all my life I have said "you can never have too much garlic for me". Well I can't say that anymore. 2 tsp of garlic powder is equivalent to 16 cloves of garlic! in 1LB of cheese?!? >> On to the fix... 1st let me address the best cheese to use... "Land o Lakes Extra Melt American Cheese". This comes from the Land o Lakes Foodservice (a.k.a. restaurant) line which is sold in large quantity & not readily available at the grocery store. I found it at a local Mexican Supermarket but I had to buy a 5LB package for $18. That's a lot of cheese! Also key is to heat the milk & butter in your pan (no dbl broiler req'd) on low heat until hot. Then grate the cheese & add a little bit at a time to the hot milk stirring & letting it melt slowly. Do not be temped to turn the eye above the low setting even for a sec :o) >> Ok now on to the ingredient amounts that I used: 16oz Land o Lakes Extra Melt American Cheese; 1-1&1/2 cup milk depending on your thickness preference (if you want to use half & half you will need to use more); 1 TBSP butter; 1/4-1/2 cup diced jalapeno peppers with juice from a jar (adjust for your heat preference); 2 tsp cumin; 1/2 tsp garlic powder; 1/2 tsp onion powder; 1/2 tsp dried cilantro. Use those ingredients in those quantities & you will have a 5 star rated taste-tested crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
176 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pelham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I should have read all of the reviews before making this recipe. I followed the directions and regret adding all of the spices. Way too much garlic. I think with some modifications I will use the recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Perfect!!! the only thing I didnt like was that it cooled quicker vs at a mexican retaurant it stays runny the whole time you are there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bancroft, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diva Nay
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
The cheese sauce was fabulous! My daughter and I truly loved it. I used half and half instead of milk. I used the leftovers the next day to put in and on top of an omelet. One of the best omelets I ever had. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diva Nay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Super good just like our favorite mexican restraunt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pimento Cheese

See how to make a creamy, slightly spicy pimento cheese spread.

White Cheese Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated 3-cheese white lasagna.

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States