Mexican White Cheese Dip/Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
The kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
Excellent! Thanks for sharing I have been trying this on my own with no luck. Its perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Close, but no cigar. It's a good enough dip on its own, but no match for the kind found in restaurants. You will not find an exact recipe for the restaurant-style dip because the restaurants use a special kind of processed cheese purchased in bulk and melted for dipping with a few ingredients added. (This cheese is packaged for restaurants and, in my travels, has not been made available to the public.) This is satisfactorily close, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2011
I made the dip exactly as written & this dip is not edible. I gave it 3 stars because I worked on it this week & the recipe is fixable. I am a garlic lover & all my life I have said "you can never have too much garlic for me". Well I can't say that anymore. 2 tsp of garlic powder is equivalent to 16 cloves of garlic! in 1LB of cheese?!? >> On to the fix... 1st let me address the best cheese to use... "Land o Lakes Extra Melt American Cheese". This comes from the Land o Lakes Foodservice (a.k.a. restaurant) line which is sold in large quantity & not readily available at the grocery store. I found it at a local Mexican Supermarket but I had to buy a 5LB package for $18. That's a lot of cheese! Also key is to heat the milk & butter in your pan (no dbl broiler req'd) on low heat until hot. Then grate the cheese & add a little bit at a time to the hot milk stirring & letting it melt slowly. Do not be temped to turn the eye above the low setting even for a sec :o) >> Ok now on to the ingredient amounts that I used: 16oz Land o Lakes Extra Melt American Cheese; 1-1&1/2 cup milk depending on your thickness preference (if you want to use half & half you will need to use more); 1 TBSP butter; 1/4-1/2 cup diced jalapeno peppers with juice from a jar (adjust for your heat preference); 2 tsp cumin; 1/2 tsp garlic powder; 1/2 tsp onion powder; 1/2 tsp dried cilantro. Use those ingredients in those quantities & you will have a 5 star rated taste-tested crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pelham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I should have read all of the reviews before making this recipe. I followed the directions and regret adding all of the spices. Way too much garlic. I think with some modifications I will use the recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Perfect!!! the only thing I didnt like was that it cooled quicker vs at a mexican retaurant it stays runny the whole time you are there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bancroft, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diva Nay
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
The cheese sauce was fabulous! My daughter and I truly loved it. I used half and half instead of milk. I used the leftovers the next day to put in and on top of an omelet. One of the best omelets I ever had. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diva Nay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Super good just like our favorite mexican restraunt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
We don't eat peppers of any kind, so I used some jalepeno juice instead. I also had to use packaged cheese slices but I couldn't tell that it made a difference. Nice alternative to regular nachos, but I didn't think it tasted much like the ones from the Mexican restaurant. We will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I'm so glad to have found a cheese sauce recipe that turns out smooth and creamy instead of lumpy. However, the next time we make it, we will stop adding ingredients after the chilies. All the powdered spices just make it smelly and over-the-top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pimento Cheese

See how to make a creamy, slightly spicy pimento cheese spread.

White Cheese Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated 3-cheese white lasagna.

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States