Mexican White Cheese Dip/Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
FINALLY!!!! I've been trying for SO long to make this like my fav Mexican restaurant!!! You MUST, MUST use white American cheese! White American is NOT Monterrey Jack as I once thought it was...it is the processed kind of cheese. You can get the Land 'o Lakes brand at the deli counter, OR you can get the sliced pre-packaged cheese which I found just next to the regular American cheese slices. It is much cheaper to just to the slices in my experience. Instead of cayenne pepper, I just used a tsp. of chili powder and it was perfect. LOVE THIS! If you're using it for a sauce as opposed to a dip, you'll definitely want to thin it out with a little more milk. I put this over Chicken Flautas from this website...SO YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mizcox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forsyth, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
Where do i begin? Wow weee what a great recipe. Just what i have been looking for. My only issue (which is minor) is the cheese thickens/cools up way too fast. So i found myself reheating when we went back for seconds...and thirds :) Thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Good. I started out using 1/2 teaspoon of all the spices, and that was plenty for our taste. I can't imagine using all 2 teaspoons! I ended up using about 3/4 cup milk. It was still pretty thick. I only used 1 4 oz. can of green chilies. Anyway, my daughter requested this and said it was just as good as what she was craving from the mexican food restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Excellent. I used Velveeta Queso Blanco in the one pound block and it tasted just like what I get in the Mexican restaurants. I only used 1 can of chilies and left out the crushed red peppers simply because we don't care for the heat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I did without the butter and used rotel with lime/cilantro instead of plain ol' green chilies. Served it over mexican rice. It's perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Oh yum! I took someone else's advice & did one can of chilies & 1/2 the spices! This will be added to my Mexican dinners from now own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I saw other people cut the seasonings in half so I did the same and there was still too much seasoning in this! I had to throw away the first batch and make it twice. The second time I just used american cheese, milk, butter, and added jalapenos and it tasted great. As tweaked I would give it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amille39

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
My daughter had this sauce at a restaurant recently. I used this recipe to duplicate what she called, the best sauce ever. After tasting this sauce, she said, "No, this is THE BEST SAUCE EVER!" I used the Land O Lakes white american cheese and it melted perfectly. This is now a must have on Mexican Night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Followed the recipe almost exactly. I just diluted the recipe with a little extra milk at the end because I thought it was a little too cheesy. It was addicting...not quite like the kind you'll find in a Mexican restaurant...nonetheless very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
We love this dip. We only use one can of chilies and 1 1/2 tsp of cumin, but it still has great flavor and is so yummy. We've always been a fun of white cheese dip from Mexican restaurants, and we're glad to be able to make it at home now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Pimento Cheese

See how to make a creamy, slightly spicy pimento cheese spread.

White Cheese Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated 3-cheese white lasagna.

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States