Mexican White Cheese Dip/Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Yummy! I added this to the chimichangas I made (from this site also).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Very good and tasty - I served it to my guests Saturday night and they couldn't get enough of it. Sooo good, as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsCabes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Well, it may be a little expensive for a dip but well worth it. Don't pass this recipe up, it is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Made this for a Super Bowl party tonight and it was fabulous! It tastes even better than our favorite store-bought dip we get in the deli. Wasn't sure how well the cheese would melt, but it did fine. I didn't have any cumin at home and it just didn't taste right, so I added some when we got to the party and it was perfect...cumin is a MUST!! We used it as a dip for tortilla chips but I'm sure it would be a great sauce over burritos, chicken enchiladas, etc. Rivals any I've eaten in restaurants!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
Holy Batman, this is good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
I used exactly what the recipe called for - white america cheese. In fact, I could only find it in individually wrapped slices and the end result was fantastic. I will say that during the stirring and adding more milk I probably used double of what the recipe called for and added some more spices to account for that. I'm making it again this weekend and plan to be a little heavier handed with the spices to begin with since I know I'll be adding more milk than it originally called for. Either way, this is a SUPER easy and SUPER tasty white cheese dip recipe. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
I think the people that are giving this a low rating are simply using the wrong type of cheese. You HAVE TO use white american cheese (not white cheddar or monterey jack). You can get Land O' Lakes sliced white american cheese in the deli and it is the only type that will melt correctly. Other than that, I use a can of jalapenos and some of the jalapeno juice and omit that butter. This is the recipe they use in Mexican restaurants...I know because I asked my favorite Mexican place and they told me the same thing. It. Is. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
290 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
This is a great cheese sauce recipe! The cumin, garlic powder, and onion powder make all the difference. I used a pound of velveeta and it was awesome, my boyfriend says its better than the resturant! I do use more milk though because I don't like mine as thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Moore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Worked/tasted great!! I was a little concerned when my grocery store only had reduced fat white american (Land of Lakes- @Deli counter). It melted perfectly, I even used skim milk and skipped the butter. I didn't use the suggested seasonings, I used a drained can of rotel instead. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
delish... i make it all the time now!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pimento Cheese

See how to make a creamy, slightly spicy pimento cheese spread.

White Cheese Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated 3-cheese white lasagna.

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States