Mexican White Cheese Dip/Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Awesome! IF & only IF you use the ' land o lakes' american white cheese, just other day I found a velveeta that was 'queso blanco' a white cheese it worked great too. Hopefully it stays on shelfs easier to get for me, as the store I like going to doesnt carry the land o lakes in deli section. Top this with green onions & it rocks, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Very good! I did make a couple changes. Used half the recommended garlic and omited the onion because we were out. Found the white american cheese at the deli. Came out perfectly! For those having difficulties this is one of those things you can't rush. I cooked it on low (1 to 2) on my glass top, it took a good 30min to melt perfectly smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Very good! Had a party and made double the recipe, still had none left over!! I used the white Velveeta cheese and it turned out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
ok i love this one!!! about 5yrs ago my hubby took me to a restaurant and we had this....and i have been looking for it ever since.....I used everything this recipe ask for....the only thing i changed and it's just cause of our taste buds...i only added 1tsp of all the spices and a little more green chilies...but OMG this is yummy! * i got American Cheese at my local supermarket for like 6 bucks a pound, not to bad and well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyasalways32

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
This was really good! I made this sauce and put it on top of "Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce". I replaced their sour cream sauce with this white sauce and OMG, it was better than Hacienda's! Great job and great recipe! i only have one question, how do you stop the cheese from hardening so fast???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I just made this and used WAL-MART brand white American cheese. Don't waste your time chasing down a certain brand! It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keekpotato
Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
We recently moved to Sicily and were looking for a queso dip that was similar to our favorite Mexican restaurant back in the states and this is it! Absolutely amazing! The secret to this is the cheese you use...if you use the wrong cheese it won't melt right and the whole thing will be terrible (used pepper jack the first time, not a good idea). I also make this in my fondue pot not on the stove and I make sure to pour in the butter and milk and cook until the butter is melted before I add in the cheese. Other than that I follow the recipe exactly and it is great every time! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I was so excited to find a white queso recipe, it's one of my favs, but this did not do what I've had justice. Velveeta actually makes a whie American cheese in the big blocks now (in the unref part of the grocery store) to use for this. I halved the amount of spices, and I can't imagine adding all of it. I would suggest doing half, and then adding more to your tastes if you are interested in making this. I also think the Mexican place I get this at uses jalepenos, and not green chiles. I will keep searching, as this one wasn't for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
So good, exactly like the sauce at my favorite Mexican restaurant! I put this over burritos and make mexican rice for a side. A great meal that I don't need to go out for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
The kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Pimento Cheese

See how to make a creamy, slightly spicy pimento cheese spread.

White Cheese Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated 3-cheese white lasagna.

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States