Mexican White Cheese Dip/Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I don't know why people had issues with this recipe. My husband wanted to Make a quasedea burger and wanted the sauce they serve at Mexican restaurants. I found this recipe, got a few ingredients I did not have and threw it together like it says to do. I used yellow American cheese not individually wrapped and I only made 1/4 of the recipe, since I did not need much. It was awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosemary Wolford

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
NOT GOOD!! and i don't mean the consistency of it. i mean the TASTE. i was really hoping it was going to be like what i get from our local restaurants and IT. IS. NOT.!!! i know they don't use cumin, and i know they don't use green chilis or cayenne. PLUS something vital was missing that makes their's awesome. VERY EXPENSIVE to make and it not turn out good!!!!! i won't be wasting my time or money on this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Very good, added 1 pkg of Mexican Melting cheese along with the White American (I did have to use the individual wrapped cheese)...used 1 can of diced chiles and 1 can of diced jalapenos. Added some juice from a jar of pickled Jalapenos for some extra bite. Used a bit of salt and pepper to taste. Heated in a small crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peeper burger

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Folks are asking how to keep it from cooling off so soon. I use a small crock pot on "keep warm". I also use a crock pot liner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Mccullough

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Oh my gosh! I signed up for an account just so I could post on this recipe. GREAT. I did need to add a little more milk as I didn't want it quite that thick, but all the other measurements are perfect. Please remember to heat the milk and butter first, LOW heat, never more than low heat, and add the cheese little at a time letting it melt before adding more. It takes time. Shredding the cheese instead of cubing it makes it melt better in my opinion. And you really do need to use Land O Lakes white American cheese from your deli. If you've ever made fondue, you know how to slowly melt the cheese. This tastes awesome. love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Barnett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Let me start by saying that I live in an area where the closest thing we have to authentic Mexican cuisine is our local Tequilas Restaurant. One of my favorite things there is Nachos Fajitas Beef. This dish includes a white cheese sauce I absolutely love. I have wanted to try recreating the sauce for some time now. I recently started using all recipes.com, and I have found many excellent recipies! I came across this recipe for the cheese sauce/dip and decided I would give it a try. I truly do like how it turned out! I used land o' lakes white american cheese (purchased at walmart) and it melted perfectly. I made two variations from the recipe. The first being that I could not find green chilies, so I substituted a 7oz. can of pickled jalapeños diced, and 1oz. of juice from same can. The heat level was perfect for my tastes. Secondly, I used about 1 1/2 cups milk as the dip was too thick to suit me. The end result was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian Sherrod

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
This was really great! I added a little pickled jalepeno with some juice and left the butter out. My husband loved it! I will be making this again soon for when our friends are over. Thank you! ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
I use deli sliced american cheese such as Land o lakes or kraft "Deli" american. Also i warm it very slowly and only add milk and diced jalapenos. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
i couldn't find white american cheese cubed so i bought velveeta and it was still soooo good! i'm eating it now and i love love love it! will definitely be making this again! thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle Paige

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
the seasoning proportions of the recipe are terrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Pimento Cheese

See how to make a creamy, slightly spicy pimento cheese spread.

White Cheese Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated 3-cheese white lasagna.

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States