Mexican White Cheese Dip/Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
As mentioned by some other reviewers, the seasoning proportions of the recipe are terrible. While this is the correct cheese to use for white queso dip and the consistency comes out good, the seasoning is extremely out of balance. The flavor of cumin is so strong that you don't realize at first that there is also way too much garlic. If you are looking for the runny white queso dip with green chili/jalapeno flavor, this is not the recipe you want--keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
This is really good! I just finished making it a day ahead of my party. I am planning on warming it slowly in a mini-slow cooker. I did not measure my milk so it is a little thin - I am planning on adding more cheese to thicken it more. I will also add some Rotel tomatoes and chilis when I reheat. Getting the right cheese makes all the difference! I purchased my white American cheese at the deli counter in Kroger sliced in 1/2 inch pieces for cubing. this is WAY better than Velveeta dip or the queso blanco in a jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
For quick snack, I use microwave to cook it and mix in rotel. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Pretty good, I burnt the bottom because I was trying to go too fast and do too many things at the same time but good flavor. Will make again. Caution it cooks quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktlynn01

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
I've used this recipe many times and it's always great. I like my sauce like they make it in the midwest Tex-Mex cafes. I leave out the garlic and onion powders. On occasion, I may add a small amount of cumin or cayenne, but not as much as the recipe calls for. White american is hard to find in the midwest but no other cheese will work. I first found it at H-E-B grocery stores in south Texas (San antonio and the Rio Grande valley). I'm asking my Kroger manager to find it and stock it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Very very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
To the reviewer mentioning the velvetta being the same thing, it is not. You need white american and the white queso velvetta is not the same thing at all. That stuff will not make this recipe even taste remotely like it is supposed to. You need to go to the cheese counter and ask for Land O Lakes white american cheese. This recipe is really good, though I'd start low with the spices and go up to what you think tastes right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daydreams123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
It was good but not great. I definitely wouldnt say it taste like a restaurant. More like just melted cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I didn't know that land o lakes white american cheese was salty. I followed the recipe & all my only complaint is the cheese is salty but can't change that
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Amazingly good and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pimento Cheese

See how to make a creamy, slightly spicy pimento cheese spread.

White Cheese Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated 3-cheese white lasagna.

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States