Mexican Wedding Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Yum! Made these for the first time last week and they sure didn't last long! Loved the texture - cakey and yet firm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by <3Loves2Bake<3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
Delicious! This is my go-to cookie recipe. Definitely add a pinch or two of salt when making these, or else they turn out a little bland. I also like to add almond extract for a bit of extra flavor. Try rolling these in a mix of cinnamon and powdered sugar-- it's even more delicious this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Yummy. Substitute a little rice flour for the wheat flour. It has almost no gluten, and gives the cookies a nice, fine crumb with a snappy bite! The cookies also last longer in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Parran

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
These turned out so yummy! I used powerded sugar instead of white sugar in the dough and instead of using 2 teaspoons of vanilla I used 1 teaspoon each of almond and vanilla extract (I love almonds). They were super delicious and perfectly almondy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GraceAnn77

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
I was very happy with this recipe. I only made one change - I substituted pecans for the almonds due to availability. I coated the cookies with powdered sugar by tossing them in a zip top bag, which cut down on the mess. I coated some while warm and some after they had cooled completely. I prefer waiting until they cool. True - not as much sugar sticks to the cookie, but it they turn out a little sticky if you coat them when they are warm. Thank you for a great recipe. I can't wait to get up in the morning and have one - or five - with my coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
I chose to use the powdered sugar based upon the reviews. I also used pecans and vanilla extract because I had those on hand. Based on previous experience, I knew to roll them while still warm. These cookies were awesome, and I am looking forward to trying them with almonds and almond extract. On a side note, these will be placed in special bags and used as guest favors for my niece's baptism.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodieSuzanne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
I made these cookies for my spanish class. I felt like this was a great way to look into another culture. They were very easy to make and fun. It was interesting to find out information about the spanish culture by making these delicious cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
this recipe is delicious and a good way of getting a taste from another culture other than our own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
These melt in your mouth and are a delicious addition to any dinner party loved em
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodisme

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
I made these cookies and they turned out great. everyone loved them,they were perfect as a going away gift to the bride and groom.I doubled the recipe and made the cookies a bit smaller so they were one bite cookies, less messy that way for party guests.The only problem I had with them was that I had to coat them 3-4 times in powdered sugar since I did as the recipe suggested and powdered them first when slightly warm,so the powdered sugar became doughy like on the cookies, so I recommend letting them cool completely before powdering them in the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States