Mexican Wedding Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
My mom made these cookies for years and what she did was make 2 batches. She would color one green and add pecans and the other red and add walnuts. And she also only used confectioner's sugar. They are the perfect Christmas cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Leave out the water and put 3 tablespoons of Jack Daniels in instead. No nuts for us. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
This was my first try at these little cookies. They were fantastic but I also had a time trying to get the powdered sugar to stick. I rolled them right out of the oven warm, let them cool for a few and rolled them again. Some sugar did stick. I tried shortening my cooking time from 20min. to 12min. Didn't help the powder sugar but they were flakier and much better. I found I have to be careful about not making the balls too large also. I used pecans which I think is traditional. Thanks for the recipe. Will be part of Christmas gifts this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by August Rose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I followed this recipe exact! and they were sooooooo good!!!!! Maybe next time, I will try confectioners sugar instead of granulated, but I really don't care to. These were perfect as is. They remind me (a little) of Greek Kourambiedes. I used slivered almonds. I used half as is and the other half chopped and it still produced a perfect texture. I used cold butter and therefore didn't really need to let it sit in the fridge long, just a little while....maybe 30 minutes, or less. I made this recipe again using confectioners sugar, instead of granulated sugar. I found it equally good, not worse and not better and this time I let the butter soften and refrigerated the dough for a while. DELICIOUS! I sift powdered sugar on top after they cool! This recipe is so simple and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickygloz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
These cookies have been one of our family favorites for years. I double the recipe, and usually get about 11 dozen nice bite size cookies. They are super easy and very quick to make, but are also very quickly gone! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheryl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
This recipe is HORRIBLE. We followed it to the letter and they did not come out at all. We gave up and found another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
I completely skipped the 'chill for three hours' and they turned out delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
Absolutely loved this cookie! I made one addition to the recipe. Before I rolled the cookies in confectionery sugar, I brushed them with melted butter which took away any dryness and caused more sugar to stick to the cookies. People commented how my cookies were not dry when most wedding cookies are and they kept coming back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WildBranch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
as written, this recipe is not good. Even the oven cooking time is off. And what is the point of refrigerating the dough for 3 hours??! There are better recipes for this traditional cookie, this is not it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Big hit in my house, added a bit of almond in the the vanilla extract. It finished off our Mexican meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westbrook, Maine, USA
Living In: Hiram, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States