Mexican Wedding Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
This are the best mexican wedding cookies. They are perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Villahermosa, Tabasco, Mexico
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
I couldn't get the powdered sugar to stick to the cookies after they had cooled...might try rolling them while still slightly warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNerAsian

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
my first recipe from allrecipes.com and it was great! i only gave it 4 stars because i made the following changes:chopped pecans instead of almonds, 1/2 cup confectioners sugar instead of granulated and i didn't chill the dough for 3 hours. everyone raved about how tastey these cookies were!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
These are really good, but I'm not sure about the 3 hour chill time. Mine was hard as a rock after 3 hours and I had to let it sit out a bit before I could form the dough into balls. Suppose it could be my fridge but 3 hours seems excessive. Ultimately it was a good cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
It kills me not to give this 5 stars. For once I made the recipe exactly as written. My mom makes these with pecans, but I love almonds so went with the recipe. I used the recipe I printed out years ago so forgot the recommendation to use the powdered sugar vs granulated. The dough is dry and is supposed to be, but they didn't harden and have the crisp afer cooking like I remember. I think the problem was the almonds. I used a hand held food chopper and I don't think they were fine enough. The larger nuts are chewey. If I use almonds again, I'll use the food processor or just go back to pecans. Make sure they are cooled comepltly before sugar otherwise the sugar melts and they become gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
I made this recipe for a Spanish project for the whole class. It turned out bsolutely amazing and everyone loved them. They're best if you put a ton of powdered sugar on them. They are also very easy to make. I have never baked in my life and they turned out great! It's a great recipe for a beginner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
These cookies were simple to make, and would be simple enough for a child to make (w/ adult supervision). Commonly known as Russian Tea Cakes, they are also referred to as Mexican Wedding cookies. I made the batch twice -once following the recipe, the second making some subtle changes. Here are the changes I made. I swapped the regular sugar out and replaced w/ 10x confectioner sugar -this produced a smoother texture. I left out the water, and added 1/4 tsp of salt. I reduced the amount of nuts to 3/4 cup and replaced the almonds with pecans. I also added 1 TBSP of vanilla caramel powdered dairy creamer to the powdered sugar, when I rolled the cookies in it...and WOW is all I can say! The first batch was good (a 3.5 star rating) but I enjoyed the second batch better thus the five star rating
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
I'm giving these 4 stars despite the fact that I screwed up this simple recipe! I only used 1 stick of butter (1/2 cup) and couldn't figure out why the batter was so dry. I added about 2/3 cup water and formed the balls anyway. I did use powdered sugar instead of granulated and added 1 tsp almond extract. Even with all these changes the cookies still turned out pretty good! Next time I will use the correct amount of butter and 1/2 tsp almond extract. I think they will be perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
I made these last year for xmas and they were a huge hit, this year I am going to try to do the chololate version as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond Hill, New York, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
Delicious! Just as good as the store bought cookies... if not better! I made a batch and they were gone in less then 8 hours!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Star, Idaho, USA
Living In: Caldwell, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States